MAC Announces 2009 Men's & Women's Indoor Track & Field Team

Updated 3/30/2009


CLEVELAND -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2009 Men’s and Women’s Indoor Track & Field All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 31 student-athletes were named to the women’s team, while 16 student-athletes were named to the men’s team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater. The remaining student-athletes have been recognized as Academic Honorable Mention selections.


Akron led this year’s women’s team with a total of six selections. Larisa Arcip, Carol Eckerly, Carrie Kayes, Stevi Large and Kim Lorentz represented the Zips on this year’s squad.


On the men’s side, Central Michigan and Eastern Michigan each had four selections apiece. Sean Anthony, Marcus Breidinger, Oz Lifshitz and Paul Pridgeon represented the Chippewas, while Kyle Fortin, Joshua Karanja, Andrew Meyer and Oliver Walter were named from the Eagles.


Bowling Green’s Stephanie Hillman and Northern Illinois’ Kaylee Walters were the only two student-athletes to post a 4.00 grade point average on either of the two teams.


The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.



2009 Women’s Indoor Track & Field Academic All-MAC Team

Larisa Arcip, Akron, 3.261, Psychology

Carol Eckerly, Akron, 3.727, Graduate Student - Economics

Carrie Kayes, Akron, 3.623, Exercise Science

Stevi Large, Akron, 3.237, Child Development (Graduated December 2008)

Kim Lorentz, Akron, 3.938, Biology

Valerie Wert, Akron, 3.773, Art Education

Ali Bishel, Ball State, 3.72, Landscape Architecture

Kara Butler, Bowling Green, 3.73, Biology

Stephanie Hillman, Bowling Green, 4.00, Early Childhood Education

Kylie Korsnack, Bowling Green, 3.91, Adolescent/Young Adult/Secondary Education

Caitlin Godin, Buffalo, 3.726, Environmental Design

Jessica Schultz, Buffalo, 3.499, History

Mary Veith, Buffalo, 3.710, Chemistry

Tina Villa, Buffalo, 3.782, Management

Amanda Rudert, Central Michigan, 3.90, Biomedical Sciences

Erika Schroll, Central Michigan, 3.59, Biology

Sarah Squires, Central Michigan, 3.98, Special Education and Math

Jessica Novakowski, Eastern Michigan, 3.29, Criminal Justice

Margarita Pogorelov, Miami, 3.65, Business (Economics)

Nicki Mitchell, Miami, 3.96, Business

Alexis Lape, Miami, 3.50, Speech Pathology/Audiology

Kelsey McHugh, Miami, 3.90, Zoology

Rebekah Hollander, Miami, 3.54, International Business

Kaylee Walters, Northern Illinois, 4.00, Biological Science

Jessica Statler, Northern Illinois, 3.80, Human Resources Management

Annie Beecham, Ohio, 3.84, Journalism

Kari Summers, Ohio, 3.32, Biological sciences

Jessica Tanner, Ohio, 3.99, Business

Shari Harmon, Toledo, 3.959, Undecided

Irene Cooper, Western Michigan, 3.30, Early Childhood Education

Ashley Hunault, Western Michigan, 3.68, Psychology


2009 Men’s Indoor Track & Field Academic All-MAC Team

Mike Baraona, Akron, 3.438, Mechanical Engineering

Weston Lott, Akron, 3.404, Graphic Design

Mike Uhle, Akron, 3.321, Biology

Jacob Hagen, Buffalo, 3.488, Exercise Science

Jake Madonia, Buffalo, 3.391, Psychology

Dan Schichtel, Buffalo, 3.284, Management

Sean Anthony, Central Michigan, 3.91, Mechanical Engineering

Marcus Breidinger, Central Michigan, 3.31, Biology

Oz Lifshitz, Central Michigan, 3.50, Undeclared

Paul Pridgeon, Central Michigan, 3.96, Finance

Kyle Fortin, Eastern Michigan, 3.88, Marketing

Joshua Karanja, Eastern Michigan, 3.42, Public Administration

Andrew Meyer, Eastern Michigan, 3.77, Physical Education

Oliver Walther, Eastern Michigan, 3.92, Finance

Destin Heasley, Kent State, 3.61, Philosophy

Matt Pfleger, Kent State, 3.47, Language Arts


2009 Women’s Indoor Track & Field Honorable Mention

Seanlay Bell, Akron                    

Allison Lawyer, Akron                

Shamara McDavid, Akron           

Katie Nentwick, Akron    

Cassie Schenck, Akron   

Thekla Lorenz, Ball State            

Tyra Schantz, Ball State 

Lisa Arrowsmith, Ball State         

Brittany Ade, Ball State  

Lauren McNichols, Ball State       

Ra’Jae Marable, Ball State                      

Heather Conger, Bowling Green  

Rachael Doughty, Bowling Green 

Sabrina Forstein, Bowling Green             

Megan Kelsey, Bowling Green                 

Courtney Krummert, Bowling Green         

Katie Manocchio, Bowling Green  

Andrea Pereira de Almeida, Bowling Green          

Carly Wells, Bowling Green         

Jackie Bozich, Buffalo     

Brittany Chilson, Buffalo             

Leah Grasmeyer, Buffalo

Ellen Muster, Buffalo      

Christine Sprehe, Buffalo

Elizabeth Carpenter, Central Michigan     

Michaela Danhoff, Central Michigan                     

Erin Dillon, Central Michigan       

Brittany Dixon, Central Michigan  

Ashley Esparza, Central Michigan

Mykal Imbrock, Central Michigan 

Kelly Kobylczyk, Central Michigan

Raeanna Lohner, Central Michigan          

Alexandra Sisson, Central Michigan

Lauren Quaintance, Eastern Michigan

Kelly Gephart, Kent State

Jessica Lhotsky, Kent State         

Kimberly Preston, Kent State

Amanda Mirochna, Miami           

Betsy Allen, Miami

Ruth Rasch, Miami

Jenenne Anthony, Northern Illinois

Rochelle Muskeyvalley, Northern Illinois

Meghan Ginter, Northern Illinois

Emily Amendola, Ohio

Megham Amburgey, Ohio

Brittany Vinson, Ohio

Melissa Wiley, Ohio

Jennifer Shaw, Ohio

Susan Plungis, Ohio

Rachel Beakas, Ohio

Kelly O’Brien, Ohio

Sharon Gase, Ohio

Christen Bosch, Ohio

Caitlin Mullens, Ohio

Megan Helgeson, Ohio

Karen Sovacool, Toledo

Sandy Brazeau, Toledo

Audra Brown, Toledo

Jennifer Roberts, Western Michigan

Bailey Wandyg, Western Michigan


2009 Men’s Indoor Track & Field Honorable Mention

Joe Mummert, Akron

Dave Ashcraft, Central Michigan

John Calvert, Central Michigan

Josh Kettlewell, Central Michigan

Jeremy Kiley, Central Michigan

Sammy Kiprotich, Central Michigan

Greg Pilling, Central Michigan

Ransom Brown, Eastern Michigan

Matthew Hammersmith, Eastern Michigan

Austin Hendrix, Eastern Michigan

Clinton Keranen, Eastern Michigan

Adam McMillan, Eastern Michigan

Erik Reichenbach, Eastern Michigan

Cole Sanseverino, Eastern Michigan

Winston Stoody, Eastern Michigan

Kenneth Wassus, Eastern Michigan

Tony Jordanek, Kent State

Andrew Linebarger, Kent State

John Minen, Kent State