Eastern Michigan's Men's Track and Field Team Selected as Preseason Favorite

Updated 3/28/2008

The Eastern Michigan University men’s track and field team was tabbed to capture the 2008 MAC Men’s Track and Field Championship as voted on by the league’s head coaches.


Eastern Michigan is the defending outdoor champion, having won 20 titles over a 36 year span, the most of any school in the conference. The Eagles return three from last years' championship team, including senior Eric Alejandro and juniors David Brent and Josh Karanja. EMU is one of only two schools to every claim the triple crown (cross country, indoor and outdoor track titles), having done so during the 2000-01, 2001-02 and 2006-07 seasons. CMU is the only other school to do so, winning it during the 2004-05 seasons.


Akron was picked to finish second. Last season the Akron men placed a program-best second at the 2007 MAC Outdoors, finishing just one point from the title with last year's championship coming down to the final relay race. They team also placed a program-best second at the 2008 MAC Indoors. All six of the Zip's 2007 Outdoor All-MAC honorees return. Leading the way are reigning champions senior Cadeau Kelley (long jump), senior Ryan Jones (high jump) and sophomore Anthony Harris (200m).


Selected to finish third was Kent State. The Golden Flashes’ Evan Whiting’s won the shot put at the 2008 Indoor MAC Championship, he was also named the meet’s “Most Outstanding Field Athlete” and to the All-MAC First Team. Curtis Eaton Jr. also won at the 2008 Indoor MAC Championship in the 400-meter dash.


Rounding out the rest of the poll were Central Michigan, Buffalo and Miami, respectfully.


The 2008 MAC Outdoor Track and Field Championships will be held at Bowling Green State University May 15-17.



Men’s Track and Field Poll Results

  1. Eastern Michigan
  2. Akron
  3. Kent State
  4. Central Michigan
  5. Buffalo
  6. Miami