MAC Announces All-MAC Men's Swim Team

Updated 3/12/2008

CLEVELAND -- The 2008 All-MAC swimming and diving team was announced with the awards based on point totals at the recent league championships. Conference champion Eastern Michigan led the way with eight first-team selections and eight second-team selections.


The Eagles program, which captured its league-record 27 swimming and diving title, picked up honors for Peter Linn as Coach of the Year, Bucky Smith for Diving Coach of the Year, and Derrick Roe for Most Outstanding Swimmer. Miami grabbed the awards for Most Outstanding Diver for Chris Heaton and Most Outstanding Senior Swimmer for Paul Ricard.


2008 Men’s Swimming All-MAC Team and Award Winners


Coach of the Year: Peter Linn, Eastern Michigan

Diving Coach of the Year: Bucky Smith, Eastern Michigan

Most Outstanding Swimmer: Derrick Roe, Eastern Michigan

Most Outstanding Diver:  Chris Heaton, Miami

Most Outstanding Senior Swimmer: Paul Ricard, Miami


First Team All-MAC (15 honorees)

Zach Ruske, Buffalo

Connor Vander Zalm, Buffalo

Derrick Roe, Eastern Michigan

Ryan Fulkerson, Eastern Michigan

Dan Kish, Eastern Michigan

Adam Wohl, Eastern Michigan

Steve Bowling, Eastern Michigan

Andrzej Olesinski, Eastern Michigan

Owen Grey, Eastern Michigan

Donald Ellison, Eastern Michigan

Scott DuCharme, Miami

Michael Carroll, Miami

Darin Smith, Miami

Paul Ricard, Miami

Chris Heaton, Miami

Ryan McHugh, Miami


Second Team All-MAC (18 honorees due to a tie)

Caleb Bye, Ball State

Mike McDowell, Buffalo

Scott Woster, Buffalo

Andrew Tamchyna, Buffalo

Mike Rowland, Eastern Michigan

Stephen D’Arrigo, Eastern Michigan

Ethan Crabtree, Eastern Michigan

Mark Kurtzer, Eastern Michigan

Tyler Groskopf, Eastern Michigan

Scott Murphy, Eastern Michigan

Mitch Kellerman, Eastern Michigan

Matt Guinan, Eastern Michigan

Jason Hass, Miami

Austin Kosier, Miami

Nick DuPuis, Miami

Blake Norman, Miami

Dave Brown, Miami