MAC Annouces Men's Tennis Preseason Poll

Updated 1/16/2008

Cleveland, Ohio -- Western Michigan and Ball State were selected to share the 2008 Mid-American Conference Men’s tennis title according to the league’s head coaches. In voting for who will take home the MAC Tournament title, Ball State received three of the votes while Western Michigan received one.

Northern Illinois was tabbed to finish third, while Toledo was picked fourth. Buffalo and Chicago State rounded out this years poll, in fifth and sixth place, respectively.  

Returning All-MAC selections from last year are first team honorees Jose Perdomo from Ball State, Brian Livingston from Northern Illinois and Kevin Hayward of Western Michigan. The returning second team All-MAC honorees are Nikesh Singh Panthlia of Buffalo, Alex Friesen of Northern Illinois, Alex Birchmeier of Western Michigan and Toledo’s Chris Clark and Jared Miller.

MAC regular season competition begins March 29 with Western Michigan at Buffalo and the league tournament is slated for April 24-26 on the campus of Northern Illinois University, DeKalb, Ill.

2008 MAC Men’s Tennis Preseason Poll

t-1.Ball State (3)

t-1. Western Michigan (1)

3. Northern Illinois

4. Toledo

5. Buffalo

6. Chicago State

 ( ) votes to win Conference Tournament