Conference Office Announces 2007 Bob James Award Winners

Updated 6/13/2007

Matt Lefeld and Jody Yednock Named 2007 Bob James Award Scholarship Winners

Bowling Green’s Lefeld and Northern Illinois’ Yednock honored for good character, leadership, citizenship and academics.


Bowling Green’s Matt Lefeld (men’s basketball, Coldwater, Ohio/Coldwater HS) and Jody Yednock (women’s gymnastics, West Chicago, Ill./West Chicago HS) were selected to receive the Mid-American Conference Bob James Memorial Scholarship, voted on by the league’s Faculty Athletic Representatives.


The Bob James Memorial Scholarship, which honors the MAC’s second commissioner (Bob James, 1964-71), is awarded to one male and one female student-athlete who have achieved a minimum grade-point average of 3.5 and have excelled in demonstrating good character, leadership and citizenship. Student-athletes are nominated during the academic year in which they complete their final season of eligibility. Honorees receive a $1,000 post-graduate scholarship.


As a member of the Falcons’ men’s basketball team, Lefeld was a four-year letterwinner, was named to the 2006-2007 ESPN All-America Third Team, won the 2005-2006 Earl Rupright Spirit Award (given to the most inspirational player on the men’s basketball team) and was also honored as the MAC’s Most Improved Player. During his career as a Falcon, Lefeld played in 105 games with 58 starts, averaged 12.4 minutes per game, shot 43 percent from the field and 71% from the free throw line.


Lefeld also garnered several academic honors during his matriculation at Bowling Green. Most recently, he was named an Academic All-American, recipient of the 2007 College of Business Administration Karl E. Vogt Award (given to the top senior), winner of the 2007 GlaxoSmithKline Senior Award, selected as the MAC Male Scholar-Athlete of the week (April 19, 2007) and was named to the 2007 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District IV team. Prior to his senior year, Lefeld received the 2006 R. Gene Richter Scholarship (awarded annually to only six students nationally), was named to the 2006 CoSIDA Academic All-District and Academic All-MAC squads, won the 2006 Paul T. Albers Scholarship and was also the winner of the 2006 Department of Management Scholarship. In addition, Lefeld was named to the MAC Honor Roll and BGSU Dean’s List every year, was a four-time honoree at the BGSU Scholar-Athlete Award Banquet and was a finalist for the BGSU Junior and Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year.


Beyond academics and athletics, Lefeld served on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) for the 2005 academic year, was the president of the BGSU chapter of the Institute for Supply Chain Management, volunteered at the Ronald McDonald House and other community charity programs, and was also and Owens corning World Headquarters intern.


Lefeld, who graduated with a 3.94 cumulative gpa and a BSBA degree in Supply Chain Management, intends to enroll in Bowling Green’s Master’s of Business program.


Yednock spent four years on the Huskies’ women’s gymnastics squad and was the team captain for three years (2005-2007). She was recently placed second in the uneven parallel bars at the MAC Championships and was selected as an alternate for the 2007 NCAA South Central Regional. In addition, Yednock was selected the MAC Co-Female Scholar-Athlete of the week (February 12, 2007), named to the 2007 MAC Gymnastics Academic All-MAC team and was named the MAC Gymnast and Specialist of the Week (March 7, 2006).


Yednock has also maintained a high level of academic achievement during her tenure at Northern Illinois. She received the Dean’s Award (2006-2007), which is awarded to students who made substantial contributions to the university community and who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship and has been awarded the Gail Masters Gallagher Memorial Scholarship (2004-2005, 2005-2006), which is given to a mathematics education major who will be continuing his or her studies at Northern Illinois next year. The award is based on academic achievement and potential as teacher. In addition, Yednock received the MAC President’s Award (2006-2007), the MAC Commissioner’s Award (2004-2005, 2005-2006), MAC Honor Roll (2004-2005, 2005-2006, 2006-2007) and the Victor E. Scholar award (2003-2007), which is the highest honor for Northern Illinois student-athletes.


Aside from her athletic and academic excellence, Yednock was a finalist for the 2006-2007 Northern Illinois University Student Lincoln Laureate, an annual honor reserved for the top senior from each of the state’s public and private four-year institutions. The award recognizes excellence in both curricular and extracurricular activities. She was also a math tutor for the Student-Athlete Academic Support Services office (2004-2007), received the Outstanding Tutor Award from the Student-Athlete Academic Support Services office (2004-2005), volunteered at the Halloween Carnival for the Children’s Wing of Kishwaukee Hospital (Fall 2005, Fall 2006), taught simple gymnastic techniques to children with disabilities at EnerGym and coached preschool and kindergarten aged children gymnastics (Summer 2003).


Yednock, who graduated with a 4.00 cumulative gpa in Mathematical Sciences- Probability and Statistics will attend the Medical University of South Carolina to pursue her PhD in Biostatistics.


Past Bob James Award Winners

2007 Matt Lefeld, Bowling Green Basketball and Jody Yednock, Northern Illinois Gymnastics

2006 David Mitchell, Miami Cross Country/Track & Field and Marie Zidek, Northern Illinois Volleyball

2005 Burke Badenhop, Bowling Green Baseball and Robin Davidson, Toledo Soccer

2004 Travis Barclay, Ball State Football and Andrea Kremer, Miami Track & Field

2003 Brett Faustman, Central Michigan Wrestling and Katrina Kerns, Bowling Green Track & Field

2002 Anthony Malik, Bowling Green Soccer and Kate Miller, Kent State Basketball

2001 Nick Iagulli, Miami Track & Field and Jennifer Jarjosa, Bowling Green Swimming

2000 Cato Coleman, Miami Track & Field and Laura Szczepanski, Ball State Gymnastics

1999 Justin Millard, Akron Soccer and Wendy Feldman, Central Michigan Volleyball

1998 Desmond Johnston, Akron Soccer and Janelle Tranquillo, Ball State Field Hockey

1997 Joseph Burch, Bowling Green Soccer and Sarah Mikrut, Ball State Gymnastics

1996 Dustin Swinehart, Miami Soccer and Kristin Gaddis, Bowling Green Cross Country/Track

1995 Stephen Fetyko, Eastern Michigan Swimming and Dana Drew, Toledo Women's Basketball

1994 Bob Dudley, Bowling Green Football and Kris Parks, Ohio Cross Country/Track

1993 Sander Scott, Central Michigan Men's Basketball and Kelly Weir, Ohio Women's Basketball

1992 Jeff Bender, Central Michigan Football and Julie Young, Western Michigan Volleyball

1991 Pat Jackson, Bowling Green Football and Kristin McDaniel, Kent State Track & Field

1990 Danny Rieman, Ball State Baseball and Linda Popovich, Bowling Green Volleyball

1989 Rick Winegardner, Ball State Swimming and Kim Keenan, Kent State Cross Country/Track