MAC Announces February Coaches Rankings

Updated 2/10/2010


Central Michigan continues to maintain advantage over Kent State in Coaches February rankings.

For Immediate Release--Wednesday, Feb. 10, 2010

CLEVELAND, Ohio-The Mid-American Conference wrestling coaches announced the month of February rankings in conjunction with the league office today.  The rankings will be released on the second Tuesday of each month throughout the season, with one additional ranking system (two total) in January and February.

Based on the individual rankings, Central Michigan maintains its advantage over Kent State for the 2010 championship. The February rankings, voted on by the league's head coaches in an open forum, are as follows:


125 - 1. Matt Steintrager (CMU); 2. Dan Bishop (UB); 3. Troy Opfer (KSU); 4. Jordan McGuire (EMU).

133 - 1. Dan Mitcheff (KSU); 2. Scott Sentes (CMU); 3. Kevin Smith (UB); 4. Tristen DeShazer (NIU).

141 - 1. Germane Lindsey (OU); 2. Connor Beebe (CMU); 3. Pat McLemore (NIU); 4. Chase Skonieczny (KSU).

149 - 1. Desi Green (UB); 2. Tony D'Alie (CMU). 3. Seth Morton (OU); 4. Matt Cathell (KSU).

157 - 1. Steve Brown (CMU); 2. Bryan Deutsch (NIU); 3. Mallie Shuster (KSU); 4. Clay Tucker (OU).

165 - 1. Tyler Grayson (CMU); 2. John-Martin Cannon (UB); 3. Obie Simpson (KSU); 4. Kevin Christensen (OU).

174 - 1. Ben Bennett (CMU); 2. Jacob Ison (OU); 3. Keith Witt (KSU); 4. Derrick Yant (NIU).

184 - 1. Dustin Kilgore (KSU); 2. Mike Miller (CMU); 3. Nick Purdue (OU); 4. Phillip Joseph (EMU).

197 - 1. Jimmy Hamel (UB); 2. Adam Cogar (KSU); 3.Eric Schuth (OU); 4. Eric Simaz (CMU).

HWT - 1. Jarod Trice (CMU); 2. Brandon Barlow (KSU); 3. Andy Hartshorn (OU); 4. David Wade (EMU).

The February team rankings were also decided in the same forum.  The six schools were ranked based on the number of first through fourth-place votes that were earned in the individual voting system.  A first-place vote was worth four team points; a second-place vote earned three team points; third-seeded votes were worth two team points, while a fourth-place tally earned that team one point in the team ranking system.  The February rankings for the MAC are as follows:

MAC February Rankings

1.             Central Michigan (33)

2.             Kent State (24)

3.             Ohio (17)

4.             Buffalo (16)

5.             Northern Illinois (7)

6.             Eastern Michigan (3)

The 2009-10 MAC Wrestling Championships will be held March 6-7 and hosted by Central Michigan University.   Last year, Central Michigan won its eighth consecutive MAC wrestling championship with 111.5 team points.  Kent State was the runner-up with 82.5 points, while Northern Illinois was third with 47.5.