MAC Announces Cross Country Academic All-MAC Teams

Updated 11/18/2005

Cleveland, Ohio-The Mid-American Conference announced today its 2005 cross country Academic All-MAC Teams, as voted by the faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. The men's team honors 11 student-athletes, while the women's team includes 19 student-athletes. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33 percent of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

Two of the honorees on the men's team also received ALL-MAC accolades at the MAC cross country championships on October 29. Eastern Michigan's Corey Nowitzke and Miami's Chris Swisher were both named first-team ALL-MAC. Akron's David Pykare and Jeff Swartzel, Buffalo's Andy Leonard, Central Michigan's Sean Anthony and Chris Schiemann, Kent State's Kyle Bowman and Ohio's Craig Leon, Brian King, and Brian List round out the 11 member men's academic team.

On the women's side, eight of the student-athletes honored for academic achievements were also All-MAC selections. Akron's Morgan Sulzener, Ball State's Helen Kibby and Rose Lehe, Kent State's Molly Hammer, Ohio's Carime Reinhart and Toledo's Ebba Stenbeck earned first-team All-MAC honors, while Akron's Adriana Zalucka, Buffalo's Jen Jezorski, Bowling Green Jamie Roflow, and Miami's Jennie Stoll received second-team All-MAC honors. Akron's Gina DiAntonio, Central Michigan's Teresa Bongiovanni, Eastern Michigan's Lauren Snell, Kent State's Stephaine Blackstone, Miami's Carol Eckerly, Northern Illinois' Jessica Sxhauff, Ohio's Ali Green and Western Michigan's Christi Valanty complete the 17 member team women's academic team.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has a excelled in athletic and academics. To qualify, a students-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.