MAC Announces Academic All-MAC Softball Team

Updated 6/3/2010
CLEVELAND -- The Mid-American Conference released its 2010 Academic All-MAC Softball team as voted on by the league's faculty athletic representatives. A total of 20 student-athletes were honored this season. The number of honorees on the Academic All-MAC Team is the number that is set for the specific sport or 33 percent of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

Ball State's MAC Tournament MVP Elizabeth Millian was named to the team for the third consecutive year along with Eastern Michigan's Jenny Scherer. Joining their teammates were Alicia Barkley of Ball State and Sarah Gerber of Eastern Michigan.

Being named to the team for the second consecutive season were Heather Bauer and Alex Feltes of Akron and Jill Schultz of Central Michigan. Alex Helfrich of Akron join her teammates as the only honoree to have a 4.0 GPA. Also joining her teammate was Kari Seddon of CMU.

Miami and Ohio each received three honorees. Miami's Sarah Billstrom and Daniela Torres where named for the first time in their careers while Alicia Hogl was named for the second time after receiving the honor in 2008. Ohio's Melissa Bonner, Shalene Petrich and Emily Wethington were named for the first time in their careers.

Rounding out the team were MAC Pitcher of the Year Kylie Reynolds of Kent State, Bowling Green's Karmen Coffey, Northern Illinois's Carly Norton, Toledo's Jillian Spink and Jenn Tschetter of Western Michigan.

To be nominated, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments from the current season only are considered.

2010 MAC Softball Academic All-MAC Team
Heather Bauer, Akron
Alex Feltes, Akron
Alex Helfrich, Akron
Elizabeth Milian, Ball State
Alicia Barkley, Ball State
Karmen Coffey, Bowling Green
Jill Schultz, Central Michigan
Kari Seddon, Central Michigan
Sarah Gerber, Eastern Michigan
Jenny Scherer, Eastern Michigan
Kylie Reynolds, Kent State
Sarah Billstrom, Miami
Alicia Hogl, Miami
Daniela Torres, Miami
Carly Norton, Northern Illinois
Melissa Bonner, Ohio
Shalene Petrich, Ohio
Emily Wethington, Ohio
Jillian Spink, Toledo
Jenn Tschetter, Western Michigan