Kent State Captures 13th Consecutive Women's Golf Championship

Updated 4/24/2011

Team Scores

Individual Scores

With a final-round 304, the Kent State Golden Flashes withstood their toughest challenge yet from the best the Mid-American Conference has to offer and captured their 13th consecutive conference crown. Kent State remains the only school to have won a championship since the event began in 1999.

Eastern Michigan's Sarah Johnson fired a tournament-low 71 on Sunday to ease to the individual title, seven shots clear of Western Michigan's Britney Hamilton and eleven strokes ahead of Kent State's Sarah Bradley. The sophomore recorded pars on her first 15 holes before ending with birdies on 16 and 18 in her first career win.

The 12-stroke win surpasses the 2005 event for narrowest margin of victory by the Golden Flashes, a 13-shot triumph over Ohio in a rain-shortened two-round championship. 2005 was also the last time Kent State failed to produce the individual medalist in the event.

Kent State now advances to one of three NCAA regionals, with Washington, Notre Dame and Stetson serving as host institutions.

Final Team Standings
1. Kent State 305-307-304=916 (+52)
2. Eastern Michigan 316-301-311=928 (+64)
3. Ball State 312-316-311=939 (+75)
t-4. Western Michigan 316-316-311=943 (+79)
t-4. Akron 319-315-309=943 (+79)
6. Toledo 321-318-317=956 (+92)
7. Ohio 325-316-319=960 (+96)
8. Northern Illinois 337-332-330=999 (+135)
9. Bowling Green 341-330-335=1006 (+142)

Top Five Individuals and Ties
1. Sarah Johnson, Eastern Michigan 72-73-71=216 (E)
2. Britney Hamilton, Western Michigan 77-74-71=223 (+7)
3. Sarah Bradley, Kent State 77-77-73=227 (+11)
4. Martina Gavier, Kent State 75-79-75=229 (+13)
t-5. Kristen Hill, Akron 77-79-75=231 (+15)
t-5. Katie Windlan, Ball State 79-78-74=231 (+15)
t-5. Shamira Marshall, Kent State 75-76-80=231 (+15)

All-MAC First Team
Kristen Hill, Akron
Brittany Kelly, Ball State
Sarah Johnson, Eastern Michigan
Martina Gavier, Kent State
Britney Hamilton, Western Michigan

All-MAC Second Team
Darby Peters, Eastern Michigan
Sarah Bradley, Kent State
Mercedes Germino, Kent State
Shamira Marshall, Kent State
Mandi Morrow, Kent State

All-Tournament Team
Sarah Johnson, Eastern Michigan
Britney Hamilton, Western Michigan
Sarah Bradley, Kent State
Martina Gavier, Kent State
Kristen Hill, Akron
Shamira Marshall, Kent State
Katie Windlan, Ball State

Coach of the Year
Sandy Wagner, Eastern Michigan

Golfer of the Year
Martina Gavier, Kent State

Freshman of the Year
Alyssa Kwon, Eastern Michigan

MAC Sportsmanship Award
Robyn Scott, Eastern Michigan