MAC Announces Men?s and Women?s Cross Country Academic All-MAC Teams

Updated 12/2/2008

CLEVELAND -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2008 Men’s and Women’s Cross Country Academic All-MAC teams Tuesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 11 student-athletes were named to the men’s team, while 18 student-athletes were named to the women’s team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater. The remaining student-athletes have been recognized as Academic Honorable Mention selections.


Miami led the men’s Academic All-MAC team with three selections this season (Paul Krebs, Kevin Silver and Pat Sovacool). Central Michigan (Sammy Kiprotich, Sean Anthony) and Ohio (Shamus Eaton, Chris Davis) each had two selections apiece, while Ryan Bloom (Buffalo), David Brent (Eastern Michigan), Tony Jordanek (Kent State) and Chris Wall (Toledo) rounded out this year’s selections.


The RedHawks also led the women’s Academic All-MAC team four Miami student-athletes were selected (Katie Leanhan, Kelsey McHugh, Amanda Mirochna, Rachel Patterson). Kara Butler, Kylie Korsnack and Jamie Roflow represented Bowling Green on this year’s squad, while Akron’s Larisa Arcip, Kim Lorentz and Cassie Schenck garnered recognition as well.


Sarah Kehe (Ball State), Mary Veith (Buffalo), Michelle Diverio (Central Michigan), Amanda Rudert (Central Michigan), Annie Beecham (Ohio), Kari Summers (Ohio), Dagna Sztykiel (Toledo) and Jennifer Roberts (Western Michigan) rounded out this year’s women’s squad.


The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.


2008 MAC Men’s Cross Country Academic All-MAC Team

Ryan Bloom, Buffalo, Sophomore, 3.311 GPA, Mathematics

Sean Anthony, Central Michigan, Senior, 3.90, Mechanical Engineering

Sammy Kiprotich, Central Michigan, Sophomore, 3.20, Undeclared

David Brent, Eastern Michigan, Senior, 3.20, Mathematics

Tony Jordanek, Kent State, Senior, 3.45, Accounting

Paul Krebs, Miami, Junior, 3.95, Zoology

Kevin Silver, Miami, Junior, 3.78, Accountancy/Finance

Pat Sovacool, Miami, Senior, 3.59, Zoology

Shamus Eaton, Ohio, Senior, 3.82, Journalism

Chris Davis, Ohio, R-Sophomore, 3.86, Industrial Systems Engineering

Chris Wall, Toledo, Sophomore, 3.891, Double Degree ? Exercise Science/Athletic Training


2008 MAC Women’s Cross Country Academic All-MAC Team

Larisa Arcip, Akron, Junior, 3.31 GPA, Psychology

Kim Lorentz, Akron, Sophomore, 3.93, Biology 

Cassie Schenck, Akron, Sophomore, 3.61, Business 

Sarah Kehe, Ball State, Junior, 3.893, Exercise Science

Kara Butler, Bowling Green, Senior, 3.69, Biology

Kylie Korsnack, Bowling Green, Senior, 3.91, Adolescent /Young Adult/Secondary Education

Jamie Roflow, Bowling Green, Graduate, 3.67, Masters in Accountancy

Mary Veith, Buffalo, Senior, 3.736, Chemistry

Michelle Diverio, Central Michigan, Senior, 3.66, Science

Amanda Rudert, Central Michigan, Senior, 3.88, Biomedical Science

Katie Lenahan, Miami, Sophomore, 3.47, Chemistry

Kelsey McHugh, Miami, Sophomore, 3.88, Zoology

Amanda Mirochna, Miami, Junior, 3.41, Social Studies Education

Rachel Patterson, Miami, Sophomore, 3.77, Exercise Science

Annie Beecham, Ohio, 3.84, Journalism

Kari Summers, Ohio, 3.475, Nutrition with Science

Dagna Sztykiel, Toledo, 3.80, Accounting

Jennifer Roberts, Western Michigan, 3.53, Nursing


2008 Cross Country Academic Honorable Mention


Mike Baraona, Akron

Christopher Moody, Bowling Green

Aaron Smuda, Bowling Green

Jesse Smuda, Bowling Green

Jacob Hagen, Buffalo

Ryan Poley, Buffalo

Wade Buchs, Central Michigan

Jeremy Kiley, Central Michigan

Matt Hammersmith, Eastern Michigan

Austin Hendrix, Eastern Michigan

Andrew Pfeiffer, Eastern Michigan

Cole Sanseverino, Eastern Michigan

Kenny Wassus, Eastern Michigan

John Minen, Kent State

Ryan Deszo, Miami

Adam Martin, Miami

Drew Fattlar, Ohio

Brock Schwarz, Ohio

Chad Toussant, Ohio

Elisha Kipchumba, Toledo

Joel Kozlesky, Toledo

Mike Taylor, Toledo


Olivia Jaworek, Akron

Carol Eckerly, Akron

Ro Rupe, Akron

Vanessa Gilbert, Ball State

Lisa Arrowsmith, Ball State

Heather Conger, Bowling Green

Megan Kelsey, Bowling Green

Courtney Krummert, Bowling Green

Andrea Pereira de Almedia, Bowling Green

Barbara Powers, Bowling Green

Andrea Scharer, Bowling Green

Lyndi Springer, Bowling Green

Tara Weiss, Bowling Green

Carly Wells, Bowling Green

Jackie Bozich, Buffalo

Brittany Chilson, Buffalo

Jessica Schultz, Buffalo

Christine Sprehe, Buffalo

Danielle Dakroub, Central Michigan

Brittany Dixon, Central Michigan

Kelly Kobylczyk, Central Michigan

Raeanne Lohner, Central Michigan

Sarah Squires, Central Michigan

Lauren Quaintance, Eastern Michigan

Allison Krupko, Kent State

Rebekah Hollander, Miami

Julianna Roche, Miami

Meghan Ginter, Northern Illinois

Breanna Brevitt, Northern Illinois

Denisse Valladares, Northern Illinois

Melissa Hornor, Ohio

Abigail Swift, Ohio

Celia Struble, Ohio

Audra Brown, Toledo

Megan Chambers, Toledo

Jenna Fausey, Toledo

Sarah Neubacher, Toledo

Karen Sovacool, Toledo