Miami Women, Eastern Michigan Men Capture Cross Country Titles

Updated 11/1/2008

Men’s Cross Country Championship Team Results

Men’s Cross Country Championship Overall Results

Women’s Cross Country Championship Team Results

Women’s Cross Country Championship Overall Results


YPSILANTI, Mich. ? The Miami University women's cross country team made history Saturday, winning its first-ever Mid-American Conference Championship, while Eastern Michigan won its fourth consecutive Mid-American Conference title Saturday at the Eagle Crest Golf Course in Ypsilanti, Mich., hosted by Eastern Michigan University. The Eagles have now won 14 MAC team titles since 1972 ? the most by any league institution in that time frame. They are also tied for second all-time in program wins with Western Michigan, while Miami leads with 20.


Ohio’s Annie Beecham won the women’s individual title with a MAC record time of 16:56.8, while EMU’s Josh Karanja claimed the men’s individual title in a time of 24:18.7. This is the fourth year in-a-row that Karanja has earned first-team All-MAC honors and he is now the 13th runner to win the program's 17th individual title, the most of any conference school.


On the men’s side, Eastern Michigan scored a total of 42 points, while Miami finished second with 56 points. Kent State followed in third place (61 points), while Central Michigan (fourth, 103 points), Ohio (fifth, 122 points), Buffalo (sixth, 169 points), Akron (seventh, 179 points), Toledo (eighth, 186 points) and Bowling Green (ninth, 270 points) rounded out the field.


Miami scored 39 points on the women’s side and was followed by Akron who placed second with 81 points. Ohio took home a third place finish with 107 points and was followed by Central Michigan (fourth, 141 points), Bowling Green (fifth, 147 points), Toledo (sixth, 165 points), Buffalo (seventh, 177 points), Kent State (eighth, 184 points), Western Michigan (ninth, 218 points), Eastern Michigan (10th, 238 points), Ball State (11th, 251 points) and Northern Illinois (12th, 355 points) rounded out the field.


Veteran head coach John Goodridge was named the MAC Men's Coach of the Year, while first-year head coach Rita Arndt-Molis was named MAC Women’s Coach of the Year. The honor was selected by the leagues head coaches.


The RedHawks and Eagles look to continue their success in two weeks when they return to action at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional meet in West Lafayette, Ind. A top finish there would earn the teams a spot in the national meet later this month in Terre Haute, Ind.


Award Winners

Men's First Team

Josh Karanja, Eastern Michigan

Kevin Silver, Miami

Pat Sovacool, Miami

Aiman Scullion, Kent State

Ryan Bloom, Buffalo

Curtis Vollmar, Eastern Michigan

Sammy Kiprotch, Central Michigan


Men's Second Team

Shamus Eaton, Ohio

David Brent, Eastern Michigan

Tony Jordanek, Kent State

Josh Perrin, Eastern Michigan

Riak Mabil, Central Michigan

Paul Krebs, Miami Jr

Scott Hilditch, Kent State


Men's Coach of the Year: John Goodridge, Eastern Michigan


Women's First Team

Annie Beecham, Ohio-16:56.8 (new MAC record)

Kari Summers, Ohio

Rachel Patterson, Miami

Larisa Arcip, Akron

Mary Veith, Buffalo

Amanda Mirochna, Miami

Kara Butler, Bowling Green


Second Team

Laura Neufarth, Miami

Kelsey McHugh, Miami

Kim Lorentz, Akron

Cassandra Schenck, Akron

Kelly Gephart, Kent State

Katie Lenanhan, Miami

Jennifer Roberts, Western Michigan


Women's Coach of the Year: Rita Arndt-Molis, Miami