MAC Announces Women's Preseason Poll

Updated 1/16/2008

Cleveland, OH - Buffalo was selected to win the 2008 Mid-American Conference Women’s tennis title according to the league’s head coaches in their annual preseason poll. In voting for who will take home the MAC Tournament title, Western Michigan received three of the votes, Buffalo received two while Eastern Michigan received one.

Defending champion Western Michigan finished second and Miami was tabbed to finish third.  Eastern Michigan was picked fourth. Toledo was chosen fifth, Bowling Green, sixth and Ball State seventh. Northern Illinois and Akron rounded out this year’s poll in eighth and ninth respectively. 

Returning All-MAC selections from last year are Western Michigan’s Kerstin Pahl and Priyanka Parekh, Buffalo’s Denise Harijanto and Andreea Novaceanu, Ball State’s Sophie Quist , Toledo’s Martina Wodzinski and lastly joining them is the MAC 2007 Women’s Player of the Year Vanessa Frankowski from Eastern Michigan  

MAC regular season competition begins March 21 with Buffalo at Northern Illinois and the league tournament is slated for April 24-27 on the campus of University at Buffalo.

2008 MAC Women’s Tennis Preseason Poll

1. Buffalo (3)

2. Western Michigan (2)

3. Miami

4. Eastern Michigan (1)

5. Toledo

6. Bowling Green

7. Ball State

8. Northern Illinois

9. Akron