EMU Earns Berth in NCAA East Regional

Updated 5/8/2007

Story courtesy of EMU Sports Information

YPSILANTI, Mich. ? The Eastern Michigan University men’s golf team earned a bid to the NCAA East Regional to be played at The Golf Club of Georgia in Alpharetta, Ga., May 17-19. The Eagles will be making their first NCAA Regional appearance after winning the Mid-American Conference Championship last weekend, May 3-5, at The Medallion Club in Westerville, Ohio.

Nine of the nation’s top 25 teams in the Golfweek rankings are in the East Regional, including No. 1 Georgia, No. 7 Florida, No. 10 Georgia Tech, No. 11 Clemson, No. 12 Coastal Carolina, No. 20 Charlotte, No.

23 North Carolina, No. 24 Duke and No. 25 Florida State.

Eastern Michigan is led by Mid-American Conference Golfer of the Year Graham Hill, who became first EMU student-athlete to claim medalist honors in the 60-year history of the conference tournament. In 34 rounds this season, Hill averaged 72.2 strokes per round, the lowest scoring average on the squad and the fourth best in the MAC. He has place in the top 25 in every tournament but one this season, including five top five showings.

While the complete team will be making its first postseason appearance, head coach Bruce Cunningham is accustomed to the NCAA experience. Former EMU great Korey Mahoney qualified as an individual in both the 2005 and 2006 championships. Prior to Mahoney’s appearances, Bob McNiff qualified for the event in 1985, while Marc Dingman made back-to-back appearances in the 1981 and 1982 regional championships.

The East Regional teams in order of seeding include No. 1 Georgia, No.

11 Clemson, No. 7 Florida, No. 12 Coastal Carolina, No. 10 Georgia Tech, Georgia State, No. 20 Charlotte, No. 23 North Carolina, No. 25 Florida State, No. 24 Duke, Auburn, Ole Miss, Chattanooga, UAB, Central Florida, Virginia Tech, Penn State, Old Dominion, Jacksonville State and Louisiana-Lafayette to round out the top 20. St. John's is the 21st-seed followed by EMU, Maryland, Longwood, Rhode Island, Hartford and Boston College.

The NCAA East Regional will be played at The Golf Club of Georgia's Lakeside Course, a 7,017-yard, par 72 layout with demanding, firm and fast greens. It was honored in 1991 by Golf Digest as "Best New Private Course" in America and annually hosts The United States Collegiate Championship. In 1999, Golf Digest honored Lakeside's par- 5, 607-yard 11th hole as one of "America's Best 99 Golf Holes."

The top 10 teams and two individuals not on those teams qualify for the 110th NCAA Men's Golf Championship at the Golden Horseshoe in Williamsburg, Va., May 30-June 2.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parentheses.

The Golf Club of Georgia- Alpharetta, Georgia
Hosted by Georgia Institute of Technology

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Georgia
2. Clemson
3. Florida
4. Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)
5. Georgia Tech (Atlantic Coast Conference)
6. Georgia State
7. Charlotte (Atlantic 10 Conference)
8. North Carolina
9. Florida State
10. Duke
11. Auburn
12. Mississippi
13. Chattanooga (Southern Conference)
14. Alabama-Birmingham
15. UCF
16. Virginia Tech
17. Penn State
18. Old Dominion (Colonial Athletic Association)
19. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)
20. Louisiana-Lafayette (Sun Belt Conference)
21. St. John’s (New York)
22. Eastern Michigan (Mid-American Conference)
23. Maryland
24. Longwood
25. Rhode Island
26. Hartford
27. Boston College

1. Duncan Stewart, Jacksonville
2. Fredric Sundberg, Campbell
3. Chris Narramore, Middle Tennessee
4. Matt Cook, Western Carolina
5. Russell Knox, Jacksonville
6. Jeff Dennis, North Florida

Rich Harvest Farms- Sugar Grove, Illinois
Hosted by Northern Illinois University

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Alabama
2. Oklahoma State (Big 12 Conference)
3. Lamar (Southland Conference)
4. Texas A&M
5. Louisville (Big East Conference)
6. Tennessee (Southeastern Conference)
7. Tulsa (Conference USA)
8. Texas
9. TCU
10. Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)
11. Minnesota
12. Southeastern Louisiana
13. Northwestern
14. Texas Tech
15. Wisconsin
16. Purdue
17. Wichita State
18. Southern Methodist
19. Baylor
20. Kansas
21. Colorado
22. Nebraska
23. Oklahoma
24. Illinois State (Missouri Valley Conference)
25. Western Illinois (Mid-Continent Conference)
26. Siena (Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference)
27. Texas Southern (Southwestern Athletic Conference)

1. Andrew Landry, Arkansas
2. Jorge Campillo, Indiana
3. Jordan Irwin, Houston
4. Mauricio Tamez, Oral Roberts
5. Mike Van Sickle, Marquette
6. Jason Kokrak, Xavier

Karsten Creek Golf Course- Stillwater, Oklahoma
Hosted by the Oklahoma State

Teams (seeded in the following order):
1. Stanford
4. Southern California (Pacific-10 Conference)
5. East Tennessee State (Atlantic Sun Conference)
6. Brigham Young (Mountain West Conference)
7. Arizona State
8. Wake Forest
9. Arizona
10. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)
11. South Carolina
12. Washington
13. Vanderbilt
14. Augusta State
15. Pepperdine (West Coast Conference)
16. San Diego State
17. New Mexico
18. Oregon State
19. Colorado State
20. Oregon
21. California
22. Nevada (Western Athletic Conference)
23. Denver
24. Pennsylvania (Ivy Group)
25. Detroit (Horizon League)
26. Bucknell (Patriot League)
27. Monmouth (Northeast Conference)

1. Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
2. Dustin Pimm, Utah
3. Darrin Hall, San Diego
4. Michael McRae, St. Mary’s (California)
5. Geoff Gonzalez, Cal Poly
6. Thomas Petersson, Pacific