Kent State Draws 25th Seed At NCAA Championship

Updated 5/24/2011

Story courtesy of Kent State Athletic Communications

- Kent State will be the 25th seed at the 2011 NCAA Men's Golf Championship next week in Oklahoma State's Karsten Creek Golf Club.  Currently ranked No. 33 in the nation, the Golden Flashes are one of 30 teams that have earned a trip to Stillwater after taking fifth at the East Regional this past weekend at Virginia Tech.

Kent State, which finished 20th at the NCAA Championship last year and a program best sixth at the 2008 Finals, is making its third championship appearance in the last four years.  This year marks the first time the Golden Flashes have made back-to-back appearances since the 2000 and 2001 campaigns.  

Starting on Tuesday, May 31, the entire 30-team field will play three rounds over three day.  At the end of the 54 holes, an individual champion will be crowned and only the top eight teams will advance to a match play playoff.

The eight teams will play a straight match play competition with the number one team after 54 holes of stroke play facing the number-eight team, number-seven will play number-two, number-six will play number-three and number-four will face number-five. The winners advance to the Final Four, then the two winners will play for the national championship on the final day.

The lineups for each team will be based on the player rankings in the 54 holes of stroke play with the number-one player for the #1 seed will play the #1 player for the eighth place team, and so on.

Each match will be worth one point. A match that is tied after 18 holes will be awarded a half-point. If the team score is tied after the completion of all five matches, a playoff using the combined strokes of all five players from an extra hole will decide the winner. If there still is a tie, the playoff would continue to another hole until there is a winner.

As the 25th seed, Kent State will be paired with Kennesaw State and Pepperdine.  The Golden Flashes are scheduled to begin play on May 31 with tee times starting at 8:10 a.m.

2011 NCAA Championship Field
1. Oklahoma State
3. Alabama
4. Georgia Tech
5. Florida
6. Augusta State
7. San Diego State
8. Texas A&M
9. Illinois
10. LSU  
11. Texas
12. Georgia
13. Iowa
14. Duke
15. Michigan
16. Southern California
17. Arkansas
18. California
19. San Diego
20. North Carolina State
21. Oklahoma
22. Arizona State
23. Ohio State
24. Tennessee
25. Kent State
26. Kennesaw State
27. Pepperdine
28. Northwestern
29. Arizona
30. Colorado State