Rimington Award 2011 Spring Watch List Includes Four MAC Centers

Updated 5/24/2011

May 19, 2011 - The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2011 Spring Watch List, which included four centers from the MAC.  Representing the converence were Chris Anzevino, Kent State; Ben Bojicic, Bowling Green; Kevin Galeher, Western Michigan; and Scott Wedige, Northern Illinois

The list includes 14 returning players from the 2010 Watch List. In all, there are 42 players on the Watch List. The Big Ten and SEC check in with the most candidates, with six players from each conference being named. The ACC follow with five players being named to the Watch List, followed by the MAC with four.

Created with the support of the Boomer Esiason Foundation, the award was established in 2000 in honor of Dave Rimington. A two-time All-American at Nebraska, he is the only player to have won the Outland Trophy twice. A member of the College Football Hall of Fame and the College Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-America Hall of Fame, Rimington was a first round draft choice of the Cincinnati Bengals in 1983, where he was a teammate of Esiason's for four years.

Proceeds from the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet will benefit cystic fibrosis research.