MAC Announces Indoor Track and Field Academic All-MAC Teams

Updated 4/8/2011
CLEVELAND - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2010-11 men's and women's Indoor Track and Field Academic All-MAC teams Friday, as voted on by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of nine men and 30 women were named to the teams.

A number of representatives on both teams had excellent winter seasons that included individual championships in their respective events. On the men's side this list includes Phil Ferguson of Akron who won the 400 Meter Dash as well as teammate Mike McCall who won high jump and Terefe Ejigu of Eastern Michigan who took the mile run as well as the 5000 meter.

On the women's team, Iris Campbell of Western Michigan won the 400 meter Dash while fellow Bronco Ashley Hunault won the long jump, Lauren Quaintance of Eastern Michigan took home the 800 meter title, Cassie Schenck of Akron won the mile, Becky O'Brien of Buffalo took down the field in the shot put, and Diana Dumitrescu of Kent State won the pentathlon. Rachel Patterson of Miami was also able to pull off two impressive wins in the 3000 and 5000 meter events.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50% of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2010-11 Men's Academic All-MAC Indoor Track and Field Team
Phil Ferguson, Akron
Mike McCall, Akron
Dylan Conway, Buffalo
John Calvert, Central Michigan
Terefe Ejigu, Eastern Michigan
Matt Hammersmith, Eastern Michigan
Destin Heasley, Kent State
Dexter Shrefe, Kent State
Dean Wood, Kent State

2010-11 Women's Academic All-MAC Indoor Track and Field Team
Katherine Lee, Akron
Kim Lorentz, Akron
Cassie Schenck, Akron
Valerie Wert, Akron
Thekla Lorenz, Ball State
Heather Conger, Bowling Green
Megan Kelsey, Bowling Green
Brittani McNeal, Bowling Green
Barbara Powers, Bowling Green
Ajla Glavasevic, Buffalo
Becky O'Brien, Buffalo
Shante' White, Buffalo
Katie Christensen, Central Michigan
Danielle Dakroub, Central Michigan
Raeanne Lohner, Central Michigan
Alexandra Sisson, Central Michigan
Lauren Quaintance, Eastern Michigan
Rachel Quaintance, Eastern Michigan
Courtney Calka, Eastern Michigan
Diana Dumitrescu, Kent State
Katie Lenahan, Miami
Kelley Miller, Miami
Rachel Patterson, Miami
Jenner Sio, Northern Illinois
Mary Bull, Northern Illinois
Brittany Tyree, Ohio
Annie Beecham, Ohio
Iris Campbell, Western Michigan
Ashley Hunault, Western Michigan
Rachel Whitley, Western Michigan

2010-11 Men's Academic All-MAC Honorable Mention
Austin Levering, Akron
Brian Archie, Buffalo
Shaun Brummert, Buffalo
Brian Smith, Buffalo
Wade Buchs, Central Michigan
Josh Kettlewell, Central Michigan
Jeremy Kiley, Central Michigan
Mychael King, Central Michigan
Greg Knaus, Central Michigan
Nick Rainey, Central Michigan
Tim Reynolds, Central Michigan
Andrew Meyer, Eastern Michigan
Matthew Pfleger, Kent State

2010-11 Women's Academic All-MAC Honorable Mention
Felicia Close, Akron
Ali Bishel, Ball State
MaryKate Mellen, Ball State
Madeline Goheen, Ball State
Autumn Dettmann, Bowling Green
Rachael Doughty, Bowling Green
Saisha Gaillard, Bowling Green
Abby Koch, Bowling Green
Alixe Korsnack, Bowling Green
Courtney Krummert, Bowling Green
Taylor Stichter, Bowling Green
Allison Weimer, Bowling Green
Tara Weiss, Bowling Green
Carly Wells, Bowling Green
Sam Beim, Buffalo
Caitlin Curry, Buffalo
Aimee Hopkins, Buffalo
Ellen Muster, Buffalo
Katie Sanders, Buffalo
Holly Anderson, Central Michigan
Brittany Dixon, Central Michigan
Veronica Garcia, Central Michigan
Stephanie Hurley, Central Michigan
Mykal Imbrock, Central Michigan
Misha Lamphere, Central Michigan
Andrea Pawlowski, Central Michigan
Maddie Ribant, Central Michigan
Asia Rawls, Eastern Michigan
Angela Scarber, Eastern Michigan
Kim Preston, Kent State
Rachael Clay, Miami
Jillian Dickman, Miami
Samantha Gable, Miami
Ruth Rasch, Miami
Katie Scannell, Miami
Ashley Zaper, Miami
Jenelle McCalla, Northern Illinois
Courtney Oldenburg, Northern Illinois
Katie Janssen, Northern Illinois
Breanna Brevitt, Northern Illinois
Jackie Sciacero, Northern Illinois
Samantha McConghey, Northern Illinois
Heather Childs, Northern Illinois
Courtney Weiss, Ohio
Kiley Mathews, Ohio
Kristen Mason, Ohio
Jaimie Cavinee, Ohio
Lauren McCullough, Ohio
Katie Bollin, Toledo
Audra Brown, Toledo
Huijun Jing, Toledo
Amanda Fenton, Western Michigan
Jenna Matthews, Western Michigan