MAC Sends 23 Wrestlers To NCAA Championships March 17-19

Updated 3/15/2011

Mid-American Conference Sends 23 Wrestlers To The 2011 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships In Philadelphia, Pa.

For Immediate Release-Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Cleveland, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference will have 23 wrestlers participating in the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship slated for March 17-19 in Philadelphia, Pa.  The MAC received 18 automatic qualifiers and five additional at-large bids to the Division I Championship.

Each MAC program is sending a minimum of two wrestlers to the NCAA Championships.  Buffalo and Kent State lead the way with six wrestlers each, while Central Michigan sends four grapplers to Philadelphia.  Ohio will send three Bobcats, while Eastern Michigan and Northern Illinois will both send two wrestlers.

Top seeded MAC wrestlers include Central Michigan's Jarod Trice as the No. 2 seed in the 285-heavyweight class; Kent State's Dustin Kilgore as the No. 4 seed in the 197 weight class; Central Michigan's Ben Bennett as the No. 6 seed in the 174 weight class; Kent State's Nicholas Bedelyon as the No. 6 seed in the 125 weight class; Central Michigan's Scotti Sentes as the No. 11 seed in the 133 weight class; and Buffalo's Desi Green as the No. 12 seed in the 149 weight class.

Central Michigan, Kent State and Ohio shared the MAC's regular season title with each program netting a 4-1 conference record.  In the MAC tournament, Central Michigan claimed the title for the tenth consecutive year and the Chippewas have now won 12 of the last 13 MAC tournaments.

2011 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships-MAC Participants

Wt.      Seed    Name, School

125      6th        Nicholas Bedelyon, Kent State

133      11th      Scotti Sentes, Central Michigan

133      --          Tyler Small, Kent State

133      --          Kevin Smith, Buffalo

141      --          Andrew Schutt, Buffalo

149      12th      Desi Green, Buffalo

149      --          Donnie Corby, Central Michigan

157      --          Matt Cathell, Kent State

157      --          Bryan Deutsch, Northern Illinois

157      --          Mark Lewandowski, Buffalo

157      --          Aaron Sulzer, Eastern Michigan

165      --          John-Martin Cannon, Buffalo

165      --          Ross Tice, Kent State

174      6th        Ben Bennett, Central Michigan

174      --          Nick Purdue, Ohio

184      --          Brad Dieckhaus, Northern Illinois

197      4th        Dustin Kilgore, Kent State

197      --          Erik Schuth, Ohio

285      2nd        Jarod Trice, Central Michigan

285      --          Brendan Barlow, Kent State

285      --          Brett Correll, Buffalo

285      --          Jeremy Johnson, Ohio

285      --          David Wade, Eastern Michigan