2009 Women's Soccer Academic All-MAC Team Announced

Updated 1/7/2010
CLEVELAND -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2009 Women's Soccer Academic All-MAC team Thursday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 32 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater. The remaining student-athletes have been recognized as Academic Honorable Mention selections.

Central Michigan led this year's team with a total of seven selections. The Chippewas were represented by Chelsi Abbot, Bethany Allport, Molly Gerst, Shay Mannino, Kristen Pelkki, Valerie Prause and Liesel Toth.

Toledo had the next most selections with a total of five as Erin Flynn, Nora Jereb, Ali Leak, Alyssa Niese and Vicki Traven represented the Rockets.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2009 Women's Soccer Academic All-MAC Team
Megan Ridley, Ball State
Tina Vannatta, Ball State
Alicia Almond, Bowling Green
Leah Johnson, Bowling Green
Katie Stephenson, Bowling Green
Chelsi Abbot, Central Michigan
Bethany Allport, Central Michigan
Molly Gerst, Central Michigan
Shay Mannino, Central Michigan
Kristen Pelkki, Central Michigan
Valerie Prause, Central Michigan
Liesel Toth, Central Michigan
Ashley Rodrigues, Eastern Michigan
Katie Lozar, Eastern Michigan
Chelsea Detrick, Eastern Michigan
Jackie Barath, Kent State
Beth Deidench, Kent State
Megan Hill, Kent State
Rachel Byron, Miami
Courtney Clarke, Miami
Stephanie Laser, Miami
Brooke Livingston, Miami
Anne Wyer, Northern Illinois
Lindsey Curnock, Northern Illinois
Ainsley Bodi, Ohio
Sarah Brown, Ohio
Erin Flynn, Toledo
Nora Jereb, Toledo
Ali Leak, Toledo
Alyssa Niese, Toledo
Vicki Traven, Toledo
Hillary Wernlund, Western Michigan