MAC Announces Cross Country Academic All-MAC Squads

Updated 12/2/2009
CLEVELAND -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2009 Men's and Women's Cross Country Academic All-MAC teams Wednesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of eight student-athletes were named to the men's team, while 15 student-athletes were named to the women's team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

Miami led the men's Academic All-MAC Team with three selections this season (David Eichenberger, Paul Krebs, and Kevin Silver). Rounding out this year's selections were Chris Moody (Bowling Green), Sammy Kiptrotch (Central Michigan), Matt Hammersmith (Eastern Michigan), Tony Jordanek (Kent State), and Chris Wall (Toledo).

The RedHawks also led the women's Academic All-MAC Team with three selections (Katie Lenahan, Kelsey McHugh, Amanda Mirochna). Akron (Kim Lorentz and Larisa Arcip), Ball State (Ali Bishel and Sarah Kehe), Central Michigan (Missy Darling and Raeanne Lohner), Kent State (Alexandra Lizarribar and Allison Krupko), and Toledo (Dagna Sztykiel and Lindsay Toussant) had two selections each.

Rounding out the Women's Cross Country Academic All-MAC team were Carly Wells (Bowling Green) and Jenna Matthews (Western Michigan).

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2009 Men's Cross Country Academic All-MAC Team

Chris Moody, Bowling Green
Sammy Kiptrotch, Central Michigan
Matt Hammersmith, Eastern Michigan
Tony Jordanek, Kent State
David Eichenberger, Miami
Paul Krebs, Miami
Kevin Silver, Miami
Chris Wall, Toledo

2009 Women's Cross Country Academic All-MAC Team
Kim Lorentz, Akron
Larisa Arcip, Akron
Ali Bishel, Ball State
Sarah Kehe, Ball State
Carly Wells, Bowling Green
Missy Darling, Central Michigan
Raeanne Lohner, Central Michigan
Alexandra Lizarribar, Kent State
Allison Krupko, Kent State
Katie Lenahan, Miami
Kelsey McHugh, Miami
Amanda Mirochna, Miami
Dagna Sztykiel, Toledo
Lindsay Toussant, Toledo
Jenna Matthews, Western Michigan