EMU To Host The 2008 MAC Men's Golf Championship

Updated 5/1/2008

Courtesy of EMU Sports Information

YPSILANTI, Mich. ? The Eastern Michigan University men’s golf team will play host to the 2008 Mid-American Golf Championship this weekend, May 2-4, at Longaberger Golf Club in Nashport, Ohio. The three-day, 72-hole event will culminate with the crowning of this year's champion Sunday afternoon.


The nine MAC institutions that sponsor men's golf: The University of Akron, Ball State University, Bowling Green State University, Eastern Michigan University, Kent State University, Miami University, Northern Illinois University, Ohio University and the University of Toledo will descend on the area for a practice round, May 1, before beginning play at 8 a.m., May 2.


The tournament will feature 36 holes Friday, 18 holes Saturday and the final 18 holes Sunday. The event is scheduled to begin at 8 a.m. each day. The tournament is open to the public and admission is free.


For the first time ever, the MAC Men’s Golf Championship will be played at Longaberger Golf Club. Last year, the league title was handed out at The Medallion Club in Westerville, Ohio while the 2005-06 event took place at The Brickyard in Indianapolis, Ind.


In a survey of America's public golf courses (May 2004), Golf Digest named Longaberger Golf Club one of 16 five-star courses and listed the club among the top 10 of all courses opened within the past five years as well as one of the top 10 in service. The course also was named America's Best New Upscale Public Course of 2000 by Golf Digest. Longaberger Golf Club is located about 45 miles east of Columbus off St. Rt. 16, north of the intersection with St. Rt. 146 in eastern Licking County.


Eastern Michigan enters this year’s championship as the defending MAC Champion. The Eagles garnered a 72-hole score of 1,1138 to capture the program's first golf trophy. EMUs Graham Hill ran away with medalist honors in 2007, recording a 277 to also earn the MAC's Player of the Year Award.


Akron finished as the team runner-up last year with a 1,141 and returns Colin Clemente who carded a 288 at last year’s tournament to tie for ninth place. Finishing four strokes shy of the Zips for second, Kent State placed third a year ago with a team score of 1,147. Ball State totaled 1,160 to finish fourth, while Ohio came in fifth with a team total of 1,166. Bowling Green (1,173), Miami (1,177), Toledo (1,185) and Northern Illinois (1,192) rounded out the championship scoring.


Live results for the event can be found on golfstat.com and on EMUEagles.com