Eastern Michigan Men, Toledo Women Claim MAC Cross Country Titles

Updated 10/30/2010

Toledo's Ari Fisher (Video)
Toledo's Kevin Hadsell (Video)
Eastern Michigan's Terefe Ejigu (Video)
Eastern Michigan's John Goodridge (Video)

Kalamazoo, Mich.
- Toledo won the Mid-American Conference women's team title for the third time in school history, while Eastern Michigan claimed its 15th Men's Championship title in school history as MAC teams fought it out under windy conditions, yet sunny skies at the 2010 MAC Cross Championships at Pine View Golf Club in Kalamazoo, Mich.

Toledo's Ari Fisher won the women's individual title for the second consecutive season with a time of 20:05.8. With the win, Fisher becomes the fourth back-to-back women's champion in MAC history (JoAnn Lanciaux, BGSU 1981-82, Caroline Mullin, WMU 1988-89 and Briana Shook, Toledo 2001-02). Fisher won last year's individual championship at the Ohio University Gold Course with a time of 22:18.8.

Eastern Michigan's Terefe Ejigu claimed the men's individual title in a time of 24:08.3. Ejigu is the 18th runner in EMU history to win the individual title and the fifth runner in the past six years to bring home the win for the Eagles.

On the men's side, Eastern Michigan scored a total of 66 points, while Kent State and Miami finished tied for second with 94 points. Akron followed in fourth place (103 points), while Ohio (fifth, 107 points), Buffalo (sixth, 122 points), Toledo (seventh, 123 points), Central Michigan (eighth, 143 points) and Bowling Green (ninth, 252 points) rounded out the field.

Toledo scored 44 points on the women's side and was followed by Central Michigan who placed second with 67 points. Miami took home a third place finish with 69 points and was followed by Ohio (fourth, 89 points), Eastern Michigan (fifth, 157 points), Western Michigan (sixth, 159 points), Akron (seventh, 187 points), Bowling Green(eighth, 235 points), Kent State (ninth, 254 points), Ball State (10th, 274 points), Buffalo (11th, 276 points) and Northern Illinois (12th, 323 points) rounded out the field.

Eastern Michigan's John Goodridge was named the MAC Men's Coach of the Year, while Toledo head coach Kevin Hadsell was named MAC Women's Coach of the Year. The honor was selected by the leagues head coaches following the race.

The Rockets and Eagles will look to continue their success in two weeks when they return to action on November 13 at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional meet in Oakland, Mich. A top finish there would earn the teams a spot in the national meet later this month in Terre Haute, Ind.

2010 MAC Men's Cross Country All-MAC First Team
Terefe Ejigu, Eastern Michigan 
Ridge Robinson, Ohio 
Scott Hilditch, Kent State
David Eichenberger, Miami 
Scott Meyers, Ohio 
Michael Perry, Miami
Jason Drudge, Central Michigan

2010 MAC Men's Cross Country All-MAC Second Team
Jonathan Dewitt, Toledo 
Elisha Kipchumba, Toledo
Andy Knapp, Akron 
Mike Heller, Kent State 
Harry Dixon, Eastern Michigan 
Ryan Bloom, Buffalo 
Nick Thomas, Toledo 

2010 MAC Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year
John Goodridge, Eastern Michigan 

2010 MAC Women's Cross Country All-MAC First Team
Ari Fisher, Toledo
Raeanne Lohner, Central Michigan
Rachel Patterson, Miami
Annie Beecham, Ohio
Courtney Calka, Eastern Michigan  
Megan Wright, Toledo
Krista Parks, Central Michigan 

2010 MAC Women's Cross Country All-MAC Second Team
Emma Kertesz, Toledo
Sam Tomerlin, Western Michigan
Kari Summers, Ohio
Maggie Bingham, Miami
Kylee Kubacki, Central Michigan 
Kelley Miller, Miami
Devyn Ramsay, Toledo

2010 MAC Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year
Kevin Hadsell, Toledo