Kent State Selected For NCAA Regional In New Jersey

Updated 5/5/2009

Story courtesy of Kent State Sports Information


KENT, Ohio ? The Kent State men’s golf team is NCAA bound for the 22nd time in school history as the Division I Men’s Golf Committee made its regional pairings announcement on Monday (May 4) evening.  The Golden Flashes earned the seventh seed in the Galloway, New Jersey Regional next week May 14-16.  The 54-hole event is hosted by Columbia at Galloway National Golf Club, a par 71, 7022-yard venue.


“Every Regional is loaded with good teams,” said Head Coach Herb Page, “Getting this far is never easy and you have to play well to move on.  I like they way our team performed at the MAC Championship and hope we can continue that next week in New Jersey.”


No.3 ranked Clemson is the top seed in the region followed by No. 10 Alabama and No. 15 Illinois as the top three seeds.  Kent State earned the Mid-American Conference’s automatic bid after a 19-stroke victory in the MAC tournament gave the program its 17th conference title.  Ranked No. 39 by, the Golden Flashes have two tournament titles and five top four finishes this season. 


This is the first season for a six-site NCAA Regional format with either 13 or 14 teams at each location.  The top five teams and top individual not on those teams will advance to the NCAA Championship hosted by Toledo at the Inverness Club May 26-30.  The Golden Flashes took sixth at the NCAA Championship last season. 


The other five regionals are located at  the University of Texas Golf Club in Austin, Texas, Lake Merced Golf Club in Daly City, California, Red Tail Golf Club in Sorrento, Florida, The Club at Olde Stone in Bowling Green, Kentucky and Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Oklahoma.


New Jersey Regional Field

Teams (seeded in the following order) (conference automatic bid):

1.    Clemson

2.    Alabama

3.    Illinois (Big Ten Conference)

4.    Tennessee

5.    Wake Forest

6.    Colorado State

7.    Kent State (Mid-American Conference)

8.    Coastal Carolina (Big South Conference)

9.    Virginia

10.    Penn State

11.    Minnesota

12.    VCU (Colonial Athletic Association)

13.    Columbia (Ivy Group)

14.    Sacred Heart (Northeast Conference)



1.    Kevin O’Connell, North Carolina

2.    Dan Woltman, Wisconsin

3.    Robert Karlsson, Liberty

4.    Peter Williamson, Dartmouth

5.    Eric Hawerchak, Central Connecticut