MAC Announces 2008-09 Preseason Wrestling Rakings

Updated 10/9/2008

CLEVELAND, Ohio-The Mid-American Conference wrestling coaches announced the preseason weight class individual rankings in conjunction with the league office today.  The rankings will be released on the second Tuesday of each month throughout the season, with one additional ranking system (two total) in January and February.


Based on the individual rankings, Kent State is expected to edge defending title holder Central Michigan and challenger Ohio in a close call for the 2009 championship. The preseason rankings, voted on by the league’s head coaches in an open forum, are as follows:


125 ? 1. Nic Bedelyon (KSU); 2. T.J. Wunnicke (NIU); 3. Dan Bishop (UB); 4. Matt Steintrager (CMU).

133 ? 1. Danny Mitcheff (KSU); 2. Conor Beebe (CMU); 3. Quentin Keyes (OU); 4. Sean Clair (EMU).

141 ? 1. Pat McLemore (NIU); 2. Drew Lashaway (KSU); 3. Germane Lindsey (OU); 4. Eric Kruger (CMU).

149 ? 1. Kevin Christensen (OU) 2. Clint Sponseller (KSU); 3. Desmond Greene (UB); 4. David Pienaar (EMU).

157 -  1. Steve Brown (CMU); 2. Bryan Deutsch (NIU); 3. Justin Brandle (EMU); 4. Clay Tucker (OU)

165 ? 1. Trevor Stewart (CMU); 2. Bryan O’Connor (NIU); 3. Tommy Weinkam (OU); 4. Obie Simpson (KSU)

174 ? 1. Mike Miller (CMU); 2. Jacob Ison (OU); 3. Eric Chine (KSU); 4. Nate Rock (UB).

184 ? 1. Mickey Moran (UB). 2. Dustin Kilgore (KSU); 3. Erik Schuth (OU); 4. Derek Foore (EMU).

197 ? 1. Michael Blackwell (KSU); 2. Jimmy Hamel (UB) 3. Chris Iammarino (OU); 4. John McLure (EMU)

285 ? 1. Jermail Porter (KSU); 2. David Wade (EMU); 3. Jared Trice (CMU); 4. Brett Correll (UB)


The preseason team rankings were also decided in the same forum.  The six schools were ranked based on the number of first through fourth-place votes that were earned in the individual voting system.  A first-place vote was worth four team points; a second-place vote earned three team points; third-seeded votes were worth two team points, while a fourth-place tally earned that team one point in the team ranking system.  The preseason team rankings for the MAC are as follows:


2008-09 MAC Preseason Poll


1.         Kent State (28)

2.         Central Michigan (19)

3.         Ohio (18)

t-4.       Buffalo (13)

t-4.       Northern Illinois (13)

6.         Eastern Michigan (9)


The 2009 MAC Wrestling Championships will be held March 6-7 and hosted by Eastern Michigan University. The 2008-09 season opens November 8 with defending MAC Champion Central Michigan and 2009 preseason favorite Kent State both at the Brockport/Oklahoma Gold Tournament, and Northern Illinois at the Stevens Point Open.