Eastern Michigan Claims MAC Men?s Golf Title

Updated 5/4/2008

Complete Results

NASHPORT, Ohio ? Eastern Michigan claimed it’s second consecutive Mid-American Conference Men’s Golf Championship with a 72-hole total of 1171 (296-288-299-288) Sunday afternoon at Longaberger Golf Club in Nashport, Ohio. The Eagles won the event by one stroke, as Kent State finished as runner-up with a final tally of 1172 (302-284-293-293).

The Rockets’ Ciaran McAleavey claimed medalist honors with a 2-under par total of 286 (70-74-74-68). McAleavey was followed by Eastern Michigan’s Peter Sauerbrei (71-71-75-70=287) and Kent State?s John Hahn (74-73-72-70=289). McAleavey’s victory marked the seventh time in the history of the event that a Toledo player has won the individual title (last was Brad Heaven in 2004).

Kent State led Eastern Michigan after the third round of the tournament and held a four-stroke lead, 879-883. The Eagles carded a team total of 288 on the final day of the tournament, while the Golden Flashes turned in a team score of 293 on the final 18 holes. Ball State (1194) placed third and Toledo finished fourth (1203), while Akron (1204), Miami (1206), Ohio (1207), Bowling Green (1210) and Northern Illinois (1216) rounded out the team scores.


Following the championship the teams enjoyed the postseason awards cookout at which the All-MAC and specialty awards were announced. EMU’s Bruce Cunningham was selected as MAC Coach of the Year, while Kent State’s Hahn was a unanimous selection for both the MAC Freshman of the Year award as well as Golfer of the Year award. Hahn was also named to the All-MAC first team.


Joining Hahn on the All-MAC first team was Toledo’s McAleavy, Akron’s Colin Clemente, Eastern Michigan’s Graham Hill and Kent State’s David Ludlow and David Markle. All-MAC second team honorees were Bowling Green’s Jace Walker, Eastern Michigan’s Christopher Ross, Kent State’s Brett Cairns and Miami’s Ben Wood and Nathan Sutherland.


Final Team Totals

1. Eastern Michigan 296-288-299-288=1171 2. Kent State 302-284-293-293=1172 3. Ball State 297-301-296-300=1194 4. Toledo 306-310-294-293=1203 5. Akron 299-305-299-301=1204 6. Miami 301-303-306-296=1206 7. Ohio 294-299-308-306=1207 8. Bowling Green 303-304-305-298=1210 9. Northern Illinois 299-305-305-307=1216


Final Individual Leaders - Top 5

1. Ciaran McAleavey (Toledo) 70-74-74-68=286 2. Peter Sauerbrei (EMU) 71-71-75-70=287 3. John Hahn (Kent State) 74-73-72-70=289 4. Colin Clemente (Akron) 72-73-70-75=290 5. David Ludlow (Kent State) 74-70-73-74=291 6. Chris Ross (EMU) 74-73-73-72=292 T7. Zach Jecklin (Northern Illinois) 72-72-74-76=294 T7. Marty Jeppesen (EMU) 74-72-75-73=294 9. David Markle (Kent State) 76-72-72-75=295


All-Tournament Team

Ciaran McAleavey, Toledo

Peter Sauerbrei, Eastern Michigan

John Hahn, Kent State

Colin Clemente, Akron

David Ludlow, Kent State


Second Team All-MAC Selections

Jace Walker, Bowling Green

Christopher Ross, Eastern Michigan

Brett Cairns, Kent State

Ben Wood, Miami

Nathan Sutherland, Miami


First Team All-MAC Selections

Ciaran McAleavey, Toledo

Colin Clemente, Akron

Graham Hill, Eastern Michigan

John Hahn, Kent State

David Ludlow, Kent State

David Markle, Kent State


MAC Freshman of the Year

John Hahn, Kent State


MAC Golfer of the Year

John Hahn, Kent State


MAC Coach of the Year

Bruce Cunningham, Eastern Michigan


MAC Sportsman of the Year

Zach Jecklin, Northern Illinois