EMU Claims Third Straight MAC Cross Country Championship Title

Updated 10/27/2007

Men’s Cross Country Championship Team Results

Men’s Cross Country Championship Overall Results

Story courtesy of Central Michigan Sports Information


MOUNT PLEASANT, Mich. ? Josh Perrin of Eastern Michigan University claimed the 2007 Mid-American Conference men’s cross country individual championship helping the Eagles to their third consecutive team championship on Saturday. The meet was hosted by Central Michigan University at Riverwood Resort.


Perrin finished the 8K race in 24:33, edging Ohio University’s Craig Leon (24:37) for the top spot.


It was the second consecutive season that an Eastern Michigan runner claimed the top individual honor and seventh time in the previous nine seasons.  Perrin was the runner-up last year.  He becomes the 16th EMU runner to win the individual title.


EMU had three runners finish in the top five and the Eagles finished with 31 points. Miami University was the runner-up with 50 points, led by Pat Sovacool’s (25:05) fourth-place individual finish.


CMU (98 points) earned a third-place finish, helped by Matt Loiselle’s ninth-place individual finish (25:19). Ohio (116), Akron (120), Kent State (130), Buffalo (180), Bowling Green (241) and Toledo (258) rounded out the team standings.


The first-team All-MAC squad honored the top seven finishers and included Perrin, Leon, EMU’s Josh Karanja (third, 24:49), Sovacool, EMU’s David Brent (fifth, 25:06), Akron’s Jason Headmen (sixth, 25:09) and Miami’s Michael Veatch (seventh, 25:14). 


Eastern Michigan head coach John Goodridge took home MAC Coach of the Year honors for the third-consecutive season.


2007 MAC Championships


Team Standings

1) Eastern Michigan (31)

2) Miami (50)

3) Central Michigan (98)

4) Ohio (116)

5) Akron (120)

6) Kent State (130)

7) Buffalo (180)

8) Bowling Green (241)

9) Toledo (258)


First Team All-MAC

1) Josh Perrin (Eastern Michigan)

2) Craig Leon (Ohio)

3) Josh Karanja (Eastern Michigan)

4) Pat Sovacool (Miami)

5) David Brent (Eastern Michigan)

6) Jason Headman (Akron)

7) Michael Veatch (Miami)


Second Team All-MAC

8) Brad Untrauer (Miami)

9) Matt Loiselle (Central Michigan)

10) Curtis Vollmar (Eastern Michigan)

11) Andy Morgan (Akron

12) Kyle Mena (Eastern Michigan)

13) Sammy Kiprotich (Central Michigan)

14) Eddie Kipchoge (Bowling Green)


MAC Coach of the Year

John Goodridge (Eastern Michigan)