Eddie Kipchoge Name MAC Men's Cross Country Runner of the Week

Updated 10/10/2006

Men’s Cross Country Runner of the Week:

Eddie Kipchoge

Bowling Green

Fr. ? (Eldoret, Kenya)

Eddie Kipchoge captured the 2006 All-Ohio Championship with a time of 25:30. Kipchoge became the first All-Ohio finisher for the first time since 1982. There were a total of 67 runners in the field.

Other Nominees:

Michael Veatch


Jr. ? (Middletown, Ohio/Middletown)

Placing eighth at the All-Ohio Championship, Veatch was the top Miami finisher for the second time this season and helped the RedHawks place fourth in a 42-team field. Clocking in at 26:05, Veatch posted his third top-ten finish of the season and was the only runner for Miami to individually place in the meet's top ten.

Andrew Manning

Central Michigan

Jr. ? (Traverse City, Mich. /Traverse City Central)

Manning was the top Chippewa in the 8K at the Michigan Intercollegiates.  He ran 24:51 to help CMU to a third-place finish.

Seth Hutchinson

Kent State

Sr. ? (Kent, Ohio/Field)

The men were led, for the third meet in a row, by 7th place finisher (of 286 runners), senior Seth Hutchinson.  Hutchinson clocked in with a time of 25:57.0 which was about 27 seconds off the first place time.  Hutchinson has placed in the top 10 in every meet he has competed in this season.

Jason Headman


Jr. ? (Ashtabula, Ohio/Edgewood)

Junior Jason Headman helped the UA men finish in 10th-place at the All-Ohio Championships over the weekend by clocking in a time of 26.17.2, earning himself an 11th-place finish in the 8km trek through the Ohio Wesleyan Golf Course. His efforts helped the Zips finish above 32 other teams in the race and he personally topped 275 other runners in the event.

Shamus Eaton


So. ? (Uniontown, Ohio/Lake)

Shamus Eaton placed 26th with a time of 26:44.80 in the 8K race at the Ohio Invitational, which gave Eaton the best finish on the Bobcats’ team. His effort was more than 10 seconds better than any other Bobcat runner. Brian was lone Bobcat runner who finished in the top 30.

Buffalo did not compete; no nominations

Central Michigan did not compete; no nominations

Eastern Michigan did not compete; no nominations

Toledo did not compete; no nominations