2010 Academic All-MAC Baseball Team Announced

Updated 6/29/2010
Cleveland, Ohio -- The Mid-American Conference announced today its 2010 Baseball Academic All-MAC team. The 17-man team was voted on by the league's Faculty Athletic Representatives from among a list of student-athletes who have excelled in athletic and academics.

Eastern Michigan led this year's team with a total of three selections. The Eagles were represented on the squad by Corey Chaffins, Zack Leonard and Kendall Lewis.

Akron (John Turk, Kevin Haas), Bowling Green (Jon Berti, T.J. Blanton), Central Michigan (Trent Howard, Bryce Morrow), Kent State (Anthony Gallas, Kyle McMillen), Toledo (Joe Corfman, Matt Delewski) and Western Michigan (Chris Lewis, Tim Cross) each had two selections apiece on this year's team.

Ball State's Ian Nielsen and Miami's Jon Edgington rounded out this year's squad.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2010 Baseball Academic All-MAC Team
John Turk, Akron
Kevin Haas, Akron
Ian Nielsen, Ball State
Jon Berti, Bowling Green
T.J. Blanton, Bowling Green
Trent Howard, Central Michigan
Bryce Morrow, Central Michigan
Zack Leonard, Eastern Michigan
Kendall Lewis, Eastern Michigan
Corey Chaffins, Eastern Michigan
Anthony Gallas, Kent State
Kyle McMillen, Kent State
Jon Edgington, Miami
Joe Corfman, Toledo
Matt Delewski, Toledo
Chris Lewis, Western Michigan
Tim Cross, Western Michigan