Central Michigan Claims MAC Gymnastics Title

Updated 3/28/2010

BOWLING GREEN, Ohio - The No. 24 Central Michigan gymnastics team ended its championship drought by claiming its 11th Mid-American Conference Championship and first since 2004 at Anderson Arena on Saturday.

Katie Simon won three events to claim the all-around title for the second straight year, Britney Taylor shared the vault crown (9.825) with Simon, Cheryl Conlin and Andrea de la Garza shared the floor exercise title with Simon and Jessica Suder won the balance beam (9.875), highlighting several strong performances on the day.

The Chippewas (18-2, 11-1 Mid-American) took the title with a final score of 195.600, nearly six-tenths better than 2009 champion Kent State (195.025).

Kent State (14-4) finished with a 195.025 to finish second at the MAC Championships. Individually, Kent State claimed three individual event titles. Sophomore Erin Rothrock dominated bars and won with a 9.875, .075 better than her nearest competitor. Junior Christina Lenny won her second MAC vault crown of her career with a 9.825 while she won her first floor title with a 9.850. She finished second in the all-around with a 39.100.

Finishing third with a season best score of 193.625 was Eastern Michigan. True freshman Kaylyn Millick ninth all-around with a score of 38.475, while senior Erin Grigg tallied an all-around score of 37.675 to finish 13th overall.

Finishing fourth was Northern Illinois University (193.200), Ball State University (193.100) claimed fifth, Western Michigan University (192.875) sixth, and Bowling Green (191.850), respectfully.

MAC Championship Team Results
1. Central Michigan 195.600
2. Kent State 195.025
3. Eastern Michigan 193.625
4. Northern Illinois 193.200
5. Ball State 193.100
6. Western Michigan 192.875
7. Bowling Green 191.850

First Team All-MAC
Dawn Christman, Bowling Green
Cheryl Conlin, Central Michigan
Andrea Delagarza, Central Michigan
Britney Taylor, Central Michigan
Katie Simon, Central Michigan
Jessica Suder, Central Michigan
Christina Lenny, Kent State
Erin Rothrock, Kent State
Kristine Garbarino, Western Michigan

Second Team All-MAC
Brittney Emmons, Ball State