Kent State Captures 2009 MAC Gymnastic Championship

Updated 3/21/2009

Kent State’s gymnastics team (17-5 overall, 6-0 MAC) defended its 2008 MAC Championship by scoring 194.500 points to win the 2009 MAC Championship at Ball State University in Muncie, Indiana on Saturday (3/21).


The Golden Flashes edged out Central Michigan (194.350) to win back-to-back conference titles. KSU is the first conference team to win back-to-back championships since the Chippewas accomplished the feat in 2003 and 2004.


Senior Laci Hendress  (Wolcott, Ind./Tri County) and junior Lydia Barrett (Rochester, N.Y./Penfield) tied with two others for top honors on floor to earn All-MAC First Team accolades to continue the Golden Flashes’ streak of having at least two all-conference first team honorees for five straight seasons. Sophomore Christina Lenny (Broadview Heights, Ohio/Brecksville-Broadview Heights) earned second team honors.


Kent State opened the conference championship meet on vault and scored a 49.075. Lenny led the way with a score of 9.925 to finish second overall. Classmate Christine Abou-Mitri (Broadview Heights, Ohio/Brecksville-Broadview Heights) and junior Brittany Kopp (Cleveland, Ohio/Holy Name) each scored a 9.825 to place second on the Flashes.


The Flashes followed with a score of 48.800 on bars to take a 1.500 lead over second-place Northern Illinois after two rotations. Barrett’s score of 9.800 on bars paced the Flashes.


Beam proved to be a challenge for Kent State as two Flashes fell during their routines and KSU’s advantage had nearly disappeared. Kopp and freshman Kristina Arcury (Williamsville, N.Y./Willamsville South) tied for the top score (9.725) for the Flashes.


Kent State closed out the meet on the Golden Flashes’ strongest event, floor. KSU entered the weekend ranked first in the MAC and 13th nationally with an RQS of 49.110. The Flashes needed every bit of their experience as they put together a score 49.025 to secure the victory.


2009 Freshman of the Year

Kristin Teubner CMU


2009 Specialist of the Year

Kyla Krygier, CMU


2009 Senior Gymnast of the Year

Jennifer Naughton, NIU


2009 Gymnast of the Year

Holly Reichard, NIU


2009 Co-Coaches of the Year

Brice Biggin (KSU) and Jerry Reichard (CMU)



1.       Katie Simon, CMU

2.       Christina Lenny, KSU

3.       Kristin Teubner, CMU

4.       Holly Reichard, NIU

Christine About-Mitri, KSU

Andrea Perini, WMU

Jennifer Naughton, NIU

Brittany Kopp, KSU



1.       Katie Simon, CMU

      Bibiana Rodriguez, BSU

3.       Holly Reichard, NIU

      Lydia Barrett, KSU

5.       Stacey Kalberg, KSU

Kyla Krygier, CMU



1.       Holly Reichard, NIU

Jennifer Naughton, NIU

3.   Breanne Guy, BGSU

      Shonda Clore, NIU

5.   Brittany Kopp, KSU

      Kristina Arcury, KSU



1.       Katie Simon, CMU

Lydia Barrett, KSU

Kristin Teubner, CMU

Laci Hendress, KSU

5.   Holly Reichard, NIU

Kristine Garbarino, WMU

Jennifer Naughton, NIU

Rachel Stuck, KSU



1.       Katie Simon, CMU

2.       Holly Reichard, NIU

3.       Jessica Neel, CMU

      Breanne Guy, BGSU

5.   Christina Lenny, KSU

6.   Kristine Garbarino, WMU


All-MAC First Team

Katie Simon, CMU

Bibiana Rodriguez, BSU

Holly  Reichard,  NIU

Jennifer Naughton, NIU

Lydia Barrett, KSU

Kristin Teubner, CMU

Laci Hendress, KSU


All-MAC Second Team

Jessica Neel, CMU

Breanne Guy, BGSU

Christina Lenny, KSU



Team Finishes

1.   KSU            194.500

2.   CMU            194.375

3.   NIU             192.700

4.   BGSU          192.425

5.   EMU            191.675

      BSU            191.675

7.   WMU           190.075