MAC Outdoor Track and Field Poll is released

Updated 4/2/2009

CLEVELAND ? The Akron women’s team and Kent State men’s team have been selected by their respective coaching groups to take home the title trophy at the 2009 MAC Outdoor Track and Field Championships. The league’s championship event is slated for May 14-16 in Akron.


The defending champion Zips women’s squad is paced by All-American Stevi Large in the hammer throw. Large has won three consecutive MAC championships in the hammer and has been honored the last two years as the MAC Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year. UA also returns two-time champion in the 1500 meters in Larisa Arcip.


Kent State is the choice to dethrone the defending champion Zips men’s champions. The Golden Flashes are anchored by a strong distance squad and also feature defending shot put champion Evan Whiting.


The complete poll follows.


Women’s Poll

1. Akron

2. Kent State

3. Miami

4. Western Michigan

5. Ball State

6. Buffalo

7. Central Michigan

8. Ohio

9. Eastern Michigan

10. Toledo

11. Bowling Green

12. Northern Illinois


Men’s Poll

1. Kent State

2. Eastern Michigan

3. Akron

4. Miami

5. Central Michigan

6. Buffalo