WMU Women's Tennis Team Earns Highest ITA Ranking In School History

Updated 5/23/2008

Story courtesy of Western Michigan University athletic media relations










KALAMAZOO -- The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the
final team rankings of the 2008 season today and the Western
women's tennis team finished the year ranked No. 53, the
highest year-end ranking in school history. The Broncos' year-end
ranking also ensures an invitation to the 2009 National Team Indoor

The Broncos finished the season 17-8 and 8-0 in the Mid-American
Conference to claim their fourth-straight undefeated MAC
Championship. Over the last four plus seasons, WMU has won 34
consecutive regular season matches against MAC opponents. This is
only the fourth time the Broncos have ended the year in the national
rankings (2007-63, 2005-55, 2001-73).

"I'm not going to let one day define our program and this ranking
validates the great year we had," Western Michigan head coach Betsy
Kuhle said. "We're excited to achieve the highest ranking in school
history because we knew all along we had a great season. This is
well-deserved for everyone associated with Western Michigan women's

WMU played an ambitious schedule that saw them face off against
nine teams that finished the year nationally-ranked, including wins
against No. 37 Illinois (4-3), No. 62 Michigan State (4-3) and No.
63 Minnesota (5-2). The Broncos also played No. 19 Michigan, No. 20
Notre Dame, No. 30 Indiana, No. 46 Boise State, No. 51 New Mexico
and No. 61 DePaul.

No other team in the MAC played more than four ranked teams and
only Eastern Michigan and Bowling Green owned a win against a ranked
team (No. 73 Indiana State for both). The Broncos were also the only
team in the MAC to own a win against the Big Ten.

The Broncos were led by MAC Coach of the Year Betsy Kuhle and ITA
Midwest Region Assistant Coach of the Year Ryan Tomlinson. On the
court, WMU was paced by 2008 MAC Player of the Year Kerstin Pahl,
Second Team All-MAC honoree Priyanka Parekh and the school's
all-time leader in wins and Second Team All-MAC member Noriko