2006 MAC Cross Country Championship Recap

Updated 10/28/2006

Individual Results

Team Results

All MAC Teams/ Specialty Awards


Eastern Michigan University Men’s Cross Country team clinched both the team and individual titles at the 2006 Mid-American Conference Cross Country Championship on Saturday October 28 at Beaver Island State Park in Buffalo, N.Y.


Eastern Michigan captured its second consecutive team title with 23 points defeating second place Central Michigan by 41 points while claiming five of the top ten individual finishes.


Kent State finished third with 72 points, followed by Miami (144), Ohio (148), Akron (156), host Buffalo (163), Bowling Green (208), Toledo (256).


Senior Corey Nowitzke of Eastern Michigan took home the individual league title with a time of 26:52.60 edging out second place finisher Josh Perrin (27:20.95) of Eastern Michigan by 28 seconds. Eastern Michigan’s David Brent seized third place clocking in at 27:56.05 followed by Jason Headman of Akron at 27:57.10, Ben Wietmarschen of Kent State at 27:58.40, Central Michigan’s Jeff Powers at 28:03.25 and Josh Karanja  of Eastern Michigan at 28:04.50.


Courtesy of MAC Sports Information