MAC Announces Winners of Reese and Jacoby Awards

Updated 5/20/2011


For Immediate Release-Thursday, May 19, 2011

Cleveland, Ohio - The top Mid-American Conference (MAC) institutional awards were handed out tonight at the MAC Honors Dinner, as part of the conference meetings at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel.  Kent State University was honored in men's competition, while Western Michigan University was honored in women's competition.

Western Michigan won its sixth all-time Jacoby Trophy, representing the top women's athletic program.  Western Michigan's last title was in 2006 and previously the program earned the Jacoby Trophy in a four year consecutive span from 1984-87. 

The Western Michigan Broncos compete in nine sports and during the 2010-11 academic year won the women's softball regular season and tournament championship for the first time in the same year in program history.  The Broncos also finished second in the indoor track & field MAC championship, second in the West Division regular season in volleyball, third in the MAC tournament in gymnastics, third in the regular season in women's tennis, fourth in the West Division regular season in soccer and lost in the MAC Women's Soccer Championship Game.  The Broncos tied for fourth in the MAC tournament in women's golf, while Britney Hamilton was invited to compete at the NCAA Central Regional for the first time in program history, fifth in the West Division in women's basketball and sixth in the conference cross country tournament.

Kent State won its sixth all-time Reese Trophy representing the top men's athletic program.  Kent State has won the Reese Trophy for the third consecutive year, its fourth in the last six years and its sixth in the last 12 seasons.  Kent State previously earned the Reese Trophy in 2000, 2002, 2006, 2009 and 2010. 

During the 2010-11 academic year, Kent State competed in seven men's sports and finished first in the regular season in basketball, including an NIT Quarterfinals appearance after impressive road wins over St. Mary's and Fairfield.  Kent State tied for the regular season championship in wrestling and sent six grapplers to the NCAA Wrestling Championship where Dustin Kilgore earned All-America status and won the National Championship at the 197 weight class.  Currently, the Kent State baseball program is ranked 28th in the nation and leads the MAC as the potential No. 1 seed in the conference tournament with three regular season games remaining. The Golden Flashes also won their third consecutive men's golf MAC Championship, placed second in the Men's Indoor and Outdoor MAC Championships, second in cross country and finished fourth in the East Division in football with a 4-4 conference mark, 5-7 overall.

Points are awarded based on each school's finish, with the overall total divided by the number of sports sponsored by each school.  An institution may count either indoor track and field or outdoor track and field, but not both.

The men's trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner David E. Reese.  Reese was the first-ever MAC Commissioner and served the conference from its inception in 1946 until 1964.

The women's trophy is named for former MAC Commissioner Fred Jacoby.  Jacoby was the MAC Commissioner from 1971-82 and is credited with incorporating women's athletics into the conference structure.