Kent State Wins Eighth MAC Tournament Title

Updated 5/30/2010
Chillicothe, Ohio -- The Kent State Golden Flashes claimed its eighth MAC Tournament title tonight by defeating the Central Michigan Chippewas, 5-3. With the win, Kent State earns an automatic berth in the upcoming NCAA Baseball Tournament. This is the third time in the past four years that the Golden Flashes have earned the title.

Kent State scored two runs in the top of the third inning to take the early lead. Jared Humphreys started things off with a single and was brought around to third on a Ben Klafczynski double. Humphreys would come around to score on a Anthony Gallas sac fly to make the score 1-0. After a Travis Shaw walk, Jimmy Rider singled through the left side to score Klaczynski and put the Golden Flashes up 2-0.

The Flashes added a run in the fourth inning after Cory Hindel singled to the shortstop. The groundout allowed teammate David Lyon to score and put Kent State up 3-0.

KSU's Shaw knocked in his sixth RBI of the tournament in the top of the seventh inning after he dropped a single into left field, allowing Humphreys to score. Then Kyle McMillen continued the scoring when he singled to left field to drive in Gallas -- giving the Golden Flashes a 5-0 lead.

Central Michigan would not go without a fight as the Chippewas would plate three runs in the bottom of the eighth inning. Dale Cornstubble knocked in Andre Emmett with a single, while Scott Phillion slapped a shot into right field to bring home James Teas - cutting the Kent State lead to 5-2. The Chippewas scored their third run of the inning when Jordan Dean grounded out to third base, allowing Cornstubble to cross the plate.

Kyle Hallock picked up his second win (8-5) of the day after pitching seven innings of five hit, two run baseball. KSU's Justin Gill came in and recorded his fifth save of the season. Gill was also named Tournament MVP after his many clutch pitching performances.

MAC All-Tournament Team

Dennis Vaughn, Bowling Green
Todd Graves, Eastern Michigan
Andrew Marshall, Eastern Michigan
Bryce Morrow, Central Michigan
Scott Phillion, Central Michigan
James Teas, Central Michigan
Travis Shaw, Kent State
Jared Humphreys, Kent State
Ben Klafczynski, Kent State
Justin Gill, Kent State (MVP)