Eastern Michigan Women's Swimming Team Tabbed Number One In Preseason Poll

Updated 10/25/2006

The league office released the 2006 women’s swimming preseason poll today. The preseason poll voted on by the MAC swimming head coaches, tagged Eastern Michigan women’s swimming team as the winner of both the regular season and the MAC Championship.


The Eagles were the 2006 MAC Swimming Champions and recorded their first league title in history. Coach Peter Linn, tabbed coach of the year, will return seven key swimmers from last season. Among those returning are Madeleine Pilchard, last years Swimmer of the Year and Sarah Chrzanowski, a first team All-MAC selection. Coach Linn will welcome nine newcomers to the Eastern Michigan team.


Miami University was tabbed to finish second for the 2006-2007 regular season. The RedHawks are a four time defending MAC champion and were ranked at number two in the collegeswimming.com Division I Mid-Major poll at the conclusion of last season. Miami placed seven student athletes on All Conference squads and placed four athletes on the Academic All-Mac team last year. The RedHawks will welcome eight new members and welcome back twelve letterwinners.


Ohio University was voted to finish third by the MAC head coaches. The Bobcats finished at number three during the 2006 MAC Championship. During last year’s MAC Championship, Ohio won seven events, produced eight individual champions, recorded 44 personal best records and named five athletes to the first team All-MAC. All five All-MAC selections will return for the upcoming season.


Ball State University was selected to finish fourth. The Cardinals placed sixth at last year’s championship. Ball State had two first team All-MAC selections and one second team All-MAC selection. Ball State will welcome back thirteen key swimmers and bring aboard nine newcomers. Bowling Green, coming off a fourth place finish at the MAC Championship, was voted to finish fifth for the regular season. The Falcons welcome back nine starters and two newcomers. The University of Toledo, the University of Akron and The University at Buffalo were selected to finish sixth, seventh and eighth respectively.


Eastern Michigan University will host the 2007 Mid American Conference Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships on February 14-17.