Central Michigan Hosts MAC Wrestling Championship

Updated 3/6/2010

WATCH MAC Wrestling Live Streaming


MAC Wrestling Brackets

MOUNT PLEASANT - Central Michigan University will host the 2010 Mid-American Conference Wrestling Championships at Rose Center this Saturday, March 6 and Sunday, March 7.  Competition begins at 1 p.m. on Saturday. The finals begin at 10 a.m. on Sunday.

The host Chippewas have won the conference tournament each of the past eight seasons, the longest winning streak in conference history. Head coach
Tom Borrelli's squad enters the tournament with eight individuals ranked in the top 20 nationally at their respective weight classes.

Each of this weekend's 10 weight class champions will receive an automatic bid to the NCAA Championships. The MAC has been allocated multiple automatic qualifiers in seven weight classes.

CMU Sports Zone will provide live video streaming of both mats throughout both days of competition. A one-month subscription to the CMU Sports Zone ($9.95) is required to view the stream.

Central Michigan has won eight consecutive MAC Championships titles and 11 of the last 12 conference tournament crowns. Central Michigan's current streak of eight straight titles is the longest streak in MAC history.  Last year, Central Michigan won its eighth consecutive MAC wrestling championship with 111.5 team points.  Kent State was the runner-up with 82.5 points, while Northern Illinois was third with 47.5.

In the latest MAC Coaches rankings, Central Michigan maintained its advantage over Kent State. The second February rankings, voted on by the league's head coaches in an open forum, were as follows:

2009-10 MAC Coaches Rankings:

125 - 1. Matt Steintrager (CMU); 2. Dan Bishop (UB); 3. Gabe Ramos (OU); 4. Troy Opfer (KSU).

133 - 1. Scotti Sentes (CMU); 2. Dan Mitcheff (KSU); 3. Kevin Smith (UB); 4. Sean Clair (EMU).

141 - 1. Connor Beebe (CMU); 2. Germane Lindsey (OU); t-3. Pat McLemore (NIU); t-3. Chase Skonieczny (KSU).

149 - 1. Desi Green (UB); t-2. Tony D'Alie (CMU); t-2. Matt Cathell (KSU); 4. Seth Morton (OU).

157 - 1. Steve Brown (CMU); 2. Bryan Deutsch (NIU); 3. Mallie Shuster (KSU); 4. Clay Tucker (OU).

165 - 1. Tyler Grayson (CMU); 2. John-Martin Cannon (UB); 3. Alex Ortman (EMU); 4. Ross Tice (KSU).

174 - 1. Ben Bennett (CMU); 2. Jacob Ison (OU); 3. Keith Witt (KSU); 4. Brian Sheehan (UB).

184 - 1. Dustin Kilgore (KSU); 2. Mike Miller (CMU); 3. Nick Purdue (OU); 4. Phillip Joseph (EMU).

197 - 1. Eric Simaz (CMU); 2. Eric Schuth (OU); 3. Adam Cogar (KSU); 4. Jimmy Hamel (UB).

HWT - 1. Jarod Trice (CMU); 2. Brandon Barlow (KSU); 3. Andy Hartshorn (OU); 4. David Wade (EMU).

MAC Second February Rankings

1.             Central Michigan (38)

2.             Kent State (21.5)

3.             Ohio (17)

4.             Buffalo (14)

5.             Eastern Michigan (5)

6.             Northern Illinois (4.5)