MAC Finishes Field Hockey Season By Naming Academic All-MAC Team

Updated 12/15/2009

CLEVELAND -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2009 Field Hockey Academic All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 11 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the MAC All-Academic Team are the number that is set for the specific sport or 33% of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

Brooke MacGillvary of Ball State, Allison Kittelberger of Kent State, Laurie Wilkins of Kent State and Marcy Dull of Ohio lead the team this year as two-time honorees after being named to the Academic All-MAC team last season. Joining their teammates are Katie George and Nicole Leach of Kent State. Ball State also adds an additional student athlete with Devanny Kuhn.

Rounding out this year's team is first team All-MAC recipients Melinda Curran of Central Michigan, Katie Brightwell of Miami and Melissa Lantz of Missouri State. MAC tournament runner-up Miami also adds Mary Hull to the team.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2009 Academic All-MAC Field Hockey Team
Brooke MacGillvary, Ball State
Devanny Kuhn, Ball State
Melinda Curran, Central Michigan
Katie George, Kent State
Allison Kittelberger, Kent State
Nicole Leach, Kent State
Laurie Wilkins, Kent State
Katie Brightwell, Miami
Mary Hull, Miami
Melissa Lantz, Missouri State
Marcy Dull, Ohio