MAC Women's Tennis Player Receives National Recognition

Updated 5/19/2009

 Article courtesy of Western Michigan University athletic media relations 

COLLEGE STATION, Texas ? The Intercollegiate Tennis Association

(ITA) announced the national award winners for NCAA Division I Tennis Tuesday during a ceremony at The Zone Club/Kyle Field on the campus of Texas A&M University.

Western Michigan senior Kerstin Pahl is the 2009 ITA Cissie Leary Award winner after being named the Midwest region winner last week.

The Cissie Leary Award is given to a women's player who displays inspiring dedication and commitment to her team, which has enhanced her team's performance and exemplified the spirit of college tennis.

Pahl is one of eight regional winners and is now a finalist for the national Cissie Leary Award.

Pahl beat out seven other regional winners: Buffalo's Smaranda Stan (East), North Carolina's Austin Smith (Southeast), Florida State's Lauren Macfarlane (South), Boise State's Klaudia Wlodarczyk (Central), Texas' Sarah Lancaster (Southwest), Washington State's Ekaterina Kamendova (Northwest) and UC-Riverside's Erynne Oki (West).

Pahl's joins Larissa Chinwah (2002) and Heidi Cakans (1998) as only the third Bronco to earn this award.

Pahl wrapped up an outstanding career this season by being named First Team All-MAC and Academic All-MAC for the third season in a row. She won a school record 66 matches by going 34-8 in singles (tying a school record for singles wins) and 32-5 in doubles. She finished her career with conference records in singles wins (114) and overall wins (232) and second in doubles wins (118). The native of Kiel, Germany, was also named the WMU Senior Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year and graduated with a 3.78 grade point average majoring in management.

The winners of the inaugural ITA and United States Tennis Writers Association (USTWA) Writing Competition were also announced at Wednesday’s award ceremony. Western Michigan associate director of media relations Matt Holmes was awarded first prize for sports information professionals for his story on WMU career wins record holders Rattiya Hiranrat, Carrie Jeanmaire and Noriko Saruta. Click here to read the full article.