MAC Men's Tennis Tournament Begins Thursday

Updated 4/20/2009

CLEVELAND ? Western Michigan has secured the No. 1 seed for this year’s Mid-American Conference men’s tennis tournament that begins Thursday, April 23, and is hosted by the University at Buffalo.  The three-day, six-team event will be staged at the Ellicott Tennis Center.


The Broncos, who have won the last three MAC regular season titles without a loss, go into the tournament as defending champion. The tournament winner earns the league’s automatic berth in the NCAA Tournament.


Ball State, Toledo and Northern Illinois all tied for second place in the regular season with 3-2 records. The league’s tiebreaker policy placed Toledo as the No. 2 seed, Northern Illinois No. 3, and Ball State No. 4.


Host Buffalo is the No. 5 seed and Chicago State No. 6.


A link to the championship web site can be accessed by CLICKING HERE.


The complete schedule is as follows:


·        Thursday April 23 rd 

o       8am ?  Courts Available for practice

o       10 am ? No. 4 Ball State vs. No. 5 Buffalo

o       1pm ? Courts available for team warm-ups

o       2:30 pm ? No. 3 Northern Illinois vs. No. 6 Chicago State

·        Friday April 24 th

o       8 am ? Courts available for team warm-up

o       10 am ? No. 1 Western Michigan vs. Ball State/Buffalo winner

o       1 pm ? Courts available for team warm-ups

o       2:30 pm- No. 2 Toledo vs. Northern Illinois/Chicago State winner

·        Saturday April 25th

o       8 am ? Courts available for team warm-ups

o       1 pm ? Championship match