MAC Names Academic All-MAC Wrestling Team

Updated 3/20/2008

Cleveland, Ohio -- The Mid-American Conference announced today its 2008 Wrestling Academic All-MAC team. The 10-member team was voted on by the league’s Faculty Athletic Representatives from among a list of student-athletes who have excelled in athletic and academics. To qualify, a students-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.


This year’s Academic All-MAC squad is highlighted by five student-athletes who were also named to the 2007 team - Central Michigan’s Brandon Carter and Wynn Michalak, Eastern Michigan’s Zach Donofrio and Cory Mancuso, Drew Lashaway from Kent State, and Kalen Knull from Northern Illinois.


First-time selections are Jeff Parker from Buffalo, Charlie Pienaar of Eastern Michigan, and two representatives from Ohio - Kevin Christensen and Seth Morton.