MAC Announces Men's Tennis Awards

Updated 5/1/2007

CLEVELAND - 2007 Mid-American Conference Men’s Tennis tournament champion Western Michigan placed a league-high fourmembers to the All-MAC first-team, the conference office announced Tuesday. Voting was conducted by the league’s six head coaches following last weekend’s tournament at IPFW.

The Broncos’ senior tandem of Brady Crosby and Tim Bradshaw, along with sophomore Kevin Hayward, were all elected to the first-team. WMU junior Alex Birchmeier garnered second team honors for the MAC Champions.

Ball State had two individual players named to the All-MAC first-team. Senior Joe Epkey and sophomore Jose Perdomo represented the Cardinals on the first team and junior Aaron Phillips was named to the second team.

The sixth first team selection was Brian Livingston of Northern Illinois. Also representing the Huskies was second team honoree Alex Friesen.

Toledo had two second team All-MAC selections with Chris Clark and Jared Miller. Buffalo’s Nikesh Singh Panthlia rounded out the second team.

Ball State’s Joe Epkey took two individual honors as he was voted both the MAC Player of the Year and MAC Tournament MVP.

BSU’s Bret Berryman, a freshman from Blue Springs, Mo., was tabbed Newcomer of the Year, while WMU mentor Dave Morin claimed Coach of the Year honors for the second year in a row and for the sixth time in his career. WMU’s Brady Crosby also was honored with the JackVredevelt Sportsmanship Award.

All-MAC First Team

Joe Epkey, Ball State, Senior, Greenwood, Ind.

Jose Perdomo, Ball State, Sophomore, Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico

Brian Livingston, Northern Illinois, Sophomore, Skokie, Ill

Tim Bradshaw, Western Michigan, Senior, Bromsgrove, England

Brady Crosby, Western Michigan, Senior, Livonia, Mich.

Kevin Hayward, Western Michigan, Sophomore, Ann Arbor, Mich.

All-MAC Second Team

Aaron Phillips, Ball State, Junior, Effingham, Ill.

Nikesh Singh Panthlia, Buffalo, Junior, George Town, Malasia

Alex Friesen, Northern Illinois, Junior, Vancouver, British Columbia

Chris Clark, Toledo, Junior, Battle Creek, Mich.

Jared Miller, Toledo, Sophomore, Parkersburg, W. Va.

Alex Birchmeier, Western Michigan, Junior, Midland, Mich.


                                                                    Individual Award Winners

Player of the Year: Joe Epkey, Ball State

Newcomer of the Year: Bret Berryman, Ball State

Jack Vredevelt Sportsmanship Award: Brady Crosby, Western Michigan

Coach of the Year: Dave Morin, Western Michigan

MAC Tournament MVP: Joe Epkey, Ball State