Akron Awarded No. 3 Seed For NCAA Tournament

Updated 11/15/2010
Story courtesy of Akron Athletic Communications

AKRON, Ohio - After advancing all the way to the NCAA championship game last year, The University of Akron men's soccer team will begin its title quest in 2010 as the No. 3 seed at the NCAA Tournament.

The Zips (18-1-1), who will be looking to capture the school's first team national championship in any sport, were awarded the No. 3 seed among the 48-team field as announced on the NCAA Selection Show on ESPNU Monday. UA will host the winner of the Xavier (10-6-4) vs. West Virginia (10-7-2) match-up in the second round of the tournament Sunday at Lee R. Jackson Soccer Field at 4 p.m. (ET)

Tickets for Sunday's match are on sale now and can be purchased online via the ticketing page on GoZips.com, on the phone at 1-888-99-AKRON (25766) or in-person at the Akron Athletics Ticket Office at InfoCision Stadium-Summa Field (located at 375 E. Exchange Street, near Gate 1 at the southwest corner of the venue, at the intersection of E. Exchange and S. Union streets), Monday-Friday, 9 a.m.-5 p.m.

The Musketeers and Mountaineers will face off in the first round Thursday at 7 p.m. in Morgantown, W.Va. The three other seeded teams in UA's bracket include No. 6 California (12-2-3), No. 11 Connecticut (12-2-5) and No. 14 Indiana (9-7-2).

As a top-4 seed, UA earned a first-round bye and the right to host three games through the quarterfinal round. UA is undefeated last 36 games (35-0-1) at home dating back to the 2007 season. No. 1 Louisville (16-0-3), No. 2 Maryland (17-2-1) and No. 4 North Carolina (16-3-1) also earned first-round byes for the tournament.

The 2010 College Cup will be held at Meredith Field at Harder Stadium in Santa Barbara, Calif., on December 10th and 12th and will feature the semifinal and championship rounds.

This year's No. 3 designation represents the second-highest seed achieved in school history and the sixth time the Zips have been seeded overall. Akron was the No. 1 seed in 2009, No. 5 in 2008, No. 14 in 2007, No. 9 in 2005 and No. 15 in 2003.

When Akron takes the field Sunday, it will represent the 25th time the Zips have competed in the NCAA Tournament. UA matched its deepest postseason run last year by facing Virginia in the national championship game last year. The Zips also made it to the title game in 1986 when it was defeated by Duke, 1-0.

The Zips have now qualified for the NCAA Tournament in each of the last four seasons under fifth-year head coach Caleb Porter. UA has earned first-round byes each year and also advanced to the Sweet 16 in 2008.

Akron won its seventh Mid-American Conference Tournament championship in nine years Sunday by defeating Western Michigan, 4-0, at Lee R. Jackson Soccer Field. 

2010 NCAA Men's Soccer Tournament
First Round: Thurs., Nov. 18*
Second Round: Sun., Nov. 21, 4 p.m.
Third Round: Sun., Nov. 28, 4 p.m.
Quarterfinals: Sat., Dec. 4, 4 p.m.
Semifinals:  Fri., Dec. 10, 8:30 p.m./11 p.m.
Finals: Sun., Dec. 12, 4 p.m.

* top 16 seeds earn first-round byes