MAC Announces Men's Tennis Awards

Updated 5/4/2010


For Immediate Release-Tuesday, May 4, 2010

Cleveland, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference (MAC) announced the 2010 Men's Tennis Awards today.  Tournament champion Western Michigan placed two first-team selections and two additional second-year selections on the heels of winning their fifth consecutive MAC Men's Tennis Championship last weekend. 

Western Michigan was the No. 3 seed for the MAC Tournament and posted an 18-10 regular season record, 3-2 in the MAC, as the Broncos defeated No. 6 seed Chicago State, No. 2 seed Ball State and No. 1 seed Buffalo to earn the title of Conference Tournament Champions.  Representing Western Michigan was first-team All-MAC selections Michael Calderone and Kazuya Komada and second-team selections Pablo Olivarez and Casey Cullen.

Regular season champion Buffalo placed one first-team selection, Wojciech Starakiewicz, and one second-team selection, Marcelo Mazzetto, in addition to first-year coach Lee Nickell taking home the Coach of the Year award.  Buffalo finished the regular season with a 12-6 record, 5-0 MAC, and was the No. 1 seed in the MAC Tournament, before losing to Western Michigan in the tournament championship.

Ball State placed Eduardo Pavia as a first-team selection and Cliff Morrison as a second-team selection.  Pavia, who finished the regular season 18-3 in singles and 12-5 in doubles action, was named the MAC Men's Tennis Player of the Year.

Northern Illinois witnessed Maksym Bartiuk's impact on the Huskies program as Bartiuk was named a first-team selection and was named the 2010 Men's Tennis Newcomer of the Year.  Also representing Northern Illinois, Javier Bernabe was named the 2010 Jack Vredevelt Sportsmanship Award winner, an annual award presented to a senior who has displayed outstanding sportsmanship throughout his career.

Toledo placed Aleksandar Elezovic as a first-team All-MAC selection and Knot Likitkumchorn and Sven Burus as second-team selections.

2010 All-MAC


Eduardo Pavia, Ball State, Junior, Carolina, Puerto Rico

Maksym Bartiuk, Northern Illinois, Freshman, Ukraine

Michael Calderone, Western Michigan, Junior, Grass Lake, Mich.

Wojciech Starakiewicz, Buffalo, Sophomore, Warsaw, Poland

Kazuya Komada, Western Michigan, Junior, Osaka, Japan

Aleksandar Elezovic, Toledo, Junior, Belgrade, Serbia


Marcelo Mazzetto, Buffalo, Junior, Sao Paulo, Brazil

Knot Likitkumchorn, Toledo, Junior, Yala, Thailand

Cliff Morrison, Ball State, Sophomore, South Africa

Sven Burus, Toledo, Junior, Slavonski Brod, Croatia

Pablo Olivarez, Western Michigan, Sophomore, Muntinlupa City, Philippines

Casey Cullen, Western Michigan, Junior, Beverly Hills, Mich.


COACH OF THE YEAR: Lee Nickell, Buffalo

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Maksym Bartiuk, Northern Illinois

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Eduardo Pavia, Ball State