MAC Announces Men's Soccer All-Academic Team

Updated 1/4/2011
Cleveland, Ohio - The Mid-American Conference announced its 2010 Men's Soccer Academic All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted on by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of 11 student-athletes were named to the team.

The national champion Akron Zips were well-represented with four selections. Anthony Ampaipitakwong, Chad Barson and Scott Caldwell were all named to the team for the first time while Kofi Sarkodie made it for the second consecutive season. Buffalo, Northern Illinois and Western Michigan each landed two players apiece, respectively, with Nick Fetterman of Buffalo and Kyle Knotek of Northern Illinois each making repeat appearances on the team. Steven Amaya of Hartwick rounded out the squad.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50% of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2010 Academic All-MAC Men's Soccer Team
Anthony Ampaipitakwong, Akron
Chad Barson, Akron
Scott Caldwell, Akron
Kofi Sarkodie, Akron
Nick Fetterman, Buffalo
Juha Kaartoluoma, Buffalo
Steven Amaya, Hartwick
Kyle Knotek, Northern Illinois
Finn Jor, Northern Illinois
Pat Schiffer, Western Michigan
Kai Mendes, Western Michigan

2010 Honorable Mention All-MAC
David Meves, Akron
Michael Nanchoff, Akron
Zach Lemke, Bowling Green
Casey Derkacz, Buffalo
Kieron Gradwell, Buffalo
Risto Latti, Buffalo
Tyler McNabb, Florida Atlantic
Andre McCreath, Florida Atlantic
Trevor Pluskota, Florida Atlantic
Michael Cunningham, Hartwick
Tim Daigle, Hartwick
Jherrett Maroney, Hartwick
Carson Pryde, Hartwick
Pat Thompson, Hartwick
Jordan Godsey, Northern Illinois
Engebreth Faerden, Northern Illinois
Yllson Asani, Western Michigan