Kent State Men, Akron Women Claim Indoor Track & Field Titles

Updated 3/1/2009

Complete Results

Championship Central


Kent, Ohio ? The Mid-American Conference Indoor Track & Field Championships wrapped up Feb. 28 at the KSU Field House as the Kent State men and Akron women claimed team crowns after two days of competition. The Golden Flashes totaled 159 points, while the Zips tallied 126 to secure their team titles. The men’s indoor title is the first ever for Kent State, while this marks the fifth consecutive year that the Akron women have claimed the team title.


Kent State’s Bill Lawson was named Men’s Indoor Track and Field Coach of the Year, while Akron’s Dennis Mitchell was named Women’s Indoor Track and Field Coach of the year.


Akron’s Daniel Kinsey was named Men’s Most Outstanding Field performer after a record-setting performance in the heptathlon. His point total of 5,490 would rank ninth in the nation (without knowing what other athletes may have tallied this weekend) and is a school record.


Kent State’s LeVania Henderson was named Women’s Most Outstanding Field performer after winning the women’s shot put with a toss of 54’-0.5”. She also finished second in the women’s weight throw (67’-8.25”).


KSU’s Curtis Eaton, Jr. also picked up post-meet honors as he was selected as the Men’s Most Oustanding Track Performer. Eaton Jr. won the men’s 400 meters with a time of 47.90 seconds. He also ran the anchor leg on the Golden Flashes’ championship 4x400 relay team that finished in 3:12.01.


Ball State’s Amber Williams was named Women's Most Valuable Performer after she collected 30 of the Cardinals 73 total points in the two-day meet, scoring Saturday victories in the 60-meter hurdles (8.24), 60-meter dash (7.44) and 200-meter dash (24.27).


Western Michigan’s Danielle Brown won the 400 meter dash and set a Kent State Field House record in the process. The senior ran a time of 54.44 seconds, just missing out on a NCAA provisional qualifying mark. The time also put Brown, a native of Kalamazoo, in the WMU record books with the second fastest time in school history in the event. Brown followed her first place finish up with a second place finish in the 60 meter hurdles, setting a school record in the process with a time of 8.52 seconds. Western Michigan’s 4x400 meter relay team of Alexis Brown, Sabra, Leya Munwam and Chatman also set a Kent State Field House record with a MAC Champion time of 3:42.00.


Eastern Michigan’s Beverly Elock won the women’s 800-meter run with a time of 2:10.40, while Akron’s Larisa Arcip won the mile run with a time of 4:53.78. Ball State’s Allison Bishel added on to 5000-meter title that she secured on day one of the championships with a first place finish in the 3000-meter run (9:43.23).


In the women’s field events, Central Michigan’s Erika Schroll claimed first place in the high jump (5-07.75), while Akron’s Carrie Kayes placed first in the pole vault (12-07.50). Kent State’s Diana Dumitrescu took home the championship title in the triple jump (40-03.50) one day after claiming the pentathlon title .


On the men’s side, Eastern Michigan’s Clint Allen posted a victory in the 60-meter dash (6.81), while Akron’s Phil Ferguson took home a first place finish in the 200-meter dash with a time of 21.44. Kent State’s Destin Heasley won the 800-meter title with a time of 1:50.55 and Eastern Michigan’s David Brent claimed the mile run victory with a time of 4:08.06. Eastern Michigan’s Neal Naughton claimed the title in the 3000-meter run with a time of 8:20.43, while Akron’s Tyshaun Peoples placed first in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.06


In the men’s field events, Akron’s Michael McCall won the high jump (7-00.25), while Central Michigan’s Oz Lifshitz placed first in the triple jump (49-10.00). Buffalo’s Alex Stamatakis won the men’s shot put title with a throw of 56-10.75.


Up next for MAC indoor track and field squads is the Notre Dame Invitational, where teams will get their last opportunity to qualify for the 2009 NCAA Indoor Track & Field Championships which will be held March 12-15 in College Station, Texas.


Men’s Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year: Bill Lawson, Kent State

Women’s Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year: Dennis Mitchell, Akron

Women’s Most Outstanding Track Performer: Ali Bishel, Ball State
Women’s Most Outstanding Field Performer: LeVania Henderson, Kent State
Men’s Most Outstanding Track Performer: Curtis Eaton Jr., Kent State
Men’s Most Outstanding Field Performer: Daniel Kinsey, Akron
Women’s Most Valuable Performer: Amber Williams, Ball State
Men’s Most Valuable Performer: Princeton Bryson, Kent State



1. Kent State -- 159

2. Eastern Michigan ? 132

3. Akron -- 109

4. Central Michigan ? 64

5. Buffalo ? 61



1) Akron -- 126

2) Kent State -- 101

3) Miami -- 73

3) Ball State -- 73

5) Western Michigan -- 62

6) Buffalo -- 52

7) Central Michigan -- 44.5

8) Ohio -- 42.5

9) Eastern Michigan -- 42

10) Toledo -- 35

11) Bowling Green -- 11

12) Northern Illinois -- 1