Kent State Women's Golf Claims it's 10th Straight MAC Championship

Updated 4/27/2008

Indianapolis, IN ? For the tenth consecutive season, the Kent State Golden Flashes have captured the Mid-American Conference Women’s Golf Championship.  KSU finished with a 72-hole total of 1177 on the Brickyard Course in Indianapolis, Indiana, 51 strokes ahead of the runner-up Eastern Michigan.


Kent State’s fourth round team total of 280 was the lowest round score in MAC tournament history.  Senior Kirby Dreher captured her first ever tournament win shooting a 69 in the fourth round and 291 for the weekend.  Following three strokes behind in second place was teammate Tara Delaney with a 294 (74-75-75-70) and in third place, also from KSU was Kira Meixner with a 298 (74-74-77-73).


Following the championship the teams enjoyed the postseason awards cookout at which the All-MAC and specialty awards were announced.  Kent State’s head coach Mike Morrow was named MAC Coach of the Year for the seventh time in 10 years.  Meixner was named Golfer of the Year, this is the ninth consecutive season a Golden Flash golfer has been tabbed with this honor.  Also from Kent State receiving top honors was Martina Gavier who was voted Freshman of the Year.  Receiving the Sportswomen of the Year was Western Michigan’s Laura Bavaird as voted by her peers.


Team Scores: 1. Kent State (1177); 2. Eastern Michigan (1228); 3. Toledo (1232); 4. Western Michigan (1272); 5. Ball State (1277); 6. Ohio (1297); 7. Northern Illinois (1308); 8. Bowling Green State (1310).


Top 10 Individual Scores: 1. Kirby Dreher (KSU) 291; 2. Tara Delaney (KSU) 294; 3. Kira Meixner (KSU) 298; T-4. Joanna Periversoff (UT) 299, Maddi Swaney (KSU) 299; 6. Stephany Fleet (EMU) 302; T-7 Catherine Fortin (EMU) 304, Martina Gavier (KSU) 304; 9. Courtney Aili (EMU) 308; 10. Boram Lee (UT) 310.



All-Tournament Team

Kirby Dreher, Junior, Kent State

Tara Delaney, Senior, Kent State

Kira Meixner, Senior, Kent State

Maddie Swaney, Junior, Kent State

Joanna Periversoff, Senior, Toledo


Second Team All-MAC

Laura Bavaird, Senior, Western Michigan

Stephany Fleet, Junior, Eastern Michigan

Boram Lee, Junior, Toledo

Kirsty O’Connor, Sophomore, Ball State

Maddi Swaney, Junior, Kent State



First Team All-MAC

Tara Delaney, Senior, Kent State

Kirby Dreher, Junior, Kent State

Catherine Fortin, Senior, Eastern Michigan

Martina Gavier, Freshman, Kent State

Kira Meixner, Senior, Kent State


Sportswomen of the Year

Laura Bavaird, Senior, Western Michigan


Freshman of the Year

Martina Gavier, Kent State


Golfer of the Year

Kira Mexiner, Senior, Kent State


Coach of the Year

Mike Morrow, Kent State


Third Place

Kira Meixner, Kent State (298)


Second Place

Tara Delaney, Kent State (294)


First Place

Kirby Dreher, Kent State (291)


Team Runner-Up

Eastern Michigan  (1228)


MAC Champion

Kent State (1177)