MAC Announces Women's Golfers of the Week

Updated 10/3/2007

Stephany Fleet, Eastern Michigan, Jr., Dewitt. Mich./Dewitt

Eastern Michigan University junior Stephany Fleet (Dewitt. Mich.-Dewitt) capped a stellar performance by winning medalist honors at the Wolverine Invitational Sunday afternoon here at the par 71, 6,098 yard U-M Golf Course. As a team, the Eagles were fifth in the 10-team field that featured some of the region's best golfers. The Dewitt, Mich. native torched the U-M Golf Course Friday with rounds of 72 and 70 before turning in a final round 77 to finish at six-over par 219. The victory marked Fleet’s second career tournament title along with her setting a career low for 54 holes. The three-round score was also the lowest total ever posted by an EMU golfer in the eight years that the Eagles have competed in the event.


Laura Bavaird, Western Michigan, Sr., Grosse lle, Mich.

Senior Laura Bavaird is two-for-two this season, winning as many tournaments as she has participated in to start of the 2007-08 campaign after capturing the Nittany Lion Invitational.  She played consistent golf over the three rounds, leading the field with 39 pars, and erased a three-stroke deficit to overtake first place on Monday. Bavaird closed out the event with a 3-over-par 75 to finish with a three-round score of 223, a career low for 54 holes, besting her previous mark of 224 set at the Shoot-out at the Legends (Oct. 9-10) in 2006.  Princeton's Susuannah Aboff, who had a three-stroke lead heading into the final round shot a 7-over-par 79 and finished one stroke behind Bavaird.


Additional Nominees:


Erin Cahil, Ohio, Fr., Hilliard, Ohio/Hilliard Davidson

Cahil finished as Ohio's top golfer in the 14-team event with a 224. She shot a 78 in Monday's final round, the best score an Ohio golfer recorded in the tourney.


Jessica McCann, Bowling Green, Senior, Mason, Ohio
McCann finished the Nitany Lion Invitational tied for 23rd, carding a 54 hole score of 240. She opened with an 81-79 on day one and fired an 80 in the final round of competition.


No nominees from Ball State, Northern Illinois and Toledo.