Kent State, Miami Claim MAC Cross Country Titles

Updated 10/31/2009

MAC Men's & Women's Cross Country Video Interviews

Individual Men's Winner Aiman Scullion
Individual Women's Winner Ari Fisher
Men's Coach of the Year Mark Croghan
Women's Coach  of the Year Kelly Phillips

– Kent State made school history today by winning its first ever MAC Men’s Cross Championship title today, while Miami and first year head coach Kelly Phillips claimed the MAC Women’s Cross Country Championship title. The races were held in rainy conditions and on a soggy Ohio University Gold Course in Athens, Ohio.


Toledo’s Ari Fisher won the women’s individual title with a time of 22:18.8, while Kent State’s Aiman Scullion claimed the men’s individual title in a time of 25:32.7. Scullion’s finish marked the first time that a Kent State runner has ever won an individual title.


On the men’s side, Kent State scored a total of 29 points, while Eastern Michigan finished second with 55 points. Central Michigan followed in third place (59 points), while Miami (fourth, 90 points), Buffalo (fifth, 143 points), Ohio (sixth, 180 points), Toledo (seventh, 181 points), Akron (eighth, 197 points) and Bowling Green (ninth, 283 points) rounded out the field.


Miami scored 44 points on the women’s side and was followed by Toledo who placed second with 63 points. Akron took home a third place finish with 104 points and was followed by Central Michigan (fourth, 116 points), Kent State (fifth, 143 points), Eastern Michigan (sixth, 157 points), Bowling Green (seventh, 212 points), Northern Illinois (eighth, 218 points), Ohio (eighth, 218 points), Western Michigan  (10th, 250 points), Ball State (11th, 269 points) and Buffalo  (12th, 317 points) rounded out the field.


Kent State head coach Mark Croghan was named the MAC Men's Coach of the Year, while Miami’s head coach Phillips was named MAC Women’s Coach of the Year. The honor was selected by the leagues head coaches.


The Golden Flashes and RedHawks look to continue their success in two weeks when they return to action at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional meet in Bloomington, Ind. A top finish there would earn the teams a spot in the national meet later this month in Terre Haute, Ind.


Award Winners

Men's First Team:

Aiman Scullion, Kent State

Riak Mabil, Central Michigan

Scott Hilditch, Kent State

Curtis Vollmar, Eastern Michigan

Tony Jordanek, Kent State

Joe McCoy, Akron

Sammy Kiprotich, Central Michigan


Men's Second Team:
Michael Heller, Kent State

James Hughes, Eastern Michigan

Mathew Lutzke, Central Michigan

Michael Perry, Miami

Joe Purpura, Kent State

Dennis Pollow, Buffalo

Matt Hammersmith, Eastern Michigan


Men's Coach of the Year: Mark Croghan, Kent State


Women's First Team:

Ari Fisher, Toledo

Alexandrea Lizarribar, Kent State

Amanda Mirochna, Miami

Alison Bishel, Ball State

Laura Neufarth, Miami

Courtney Calka, Eastern Michigan

Melissa Darling, Central Michigan


Women’s Second Team:

Renata  Volf, Toledo

Devyn Ramsay, Toledo

Larisa Arcip, Akron

Kelsey McHugh, Miami

Rachel Patterson, Miami

Katie Lenahan, Miami

Maggie Bingham, Miami


Women's Coach of the Year: Kelly Phillips, Miami