MAC Announces 2010 Academic All-MAC Women's Gymnastics Team

Updated 4/28/2010
CLEVELAND, Ohio -- The Mid-American Conference released its 2010 Academic All-MAC Women's Gymnastics team as voted on by the league's faculty athletic representatives. A total of 10 student-athletes were named to the team. The number of honorees on the Academic All-MAC Team is the number that is set for the specific sport or 33 percent of the number of nominees, whichever is greater.

MAC Champion Central Michigan led the way with three recipients with Katie Simon, Andrea de la Garza and Kristin Teubner. Simon was named to the team for the second consecutive season.

MAC Runner-up Kent State adds two to the list with Lydia Barrett and Christina Lenny. Barrett is a three year honoree which is the maximum an athlete can be named to the team.

Eastern Michigan's Erin Grigg was named to the team for the second consecutive season. Rounding out the team is Ball State's Ashley Jacob, Bowling Green's Dawn Christman, Northern Illinois Natalie Blum and Western Michigan's Kristine Garbarino.

To be nominated, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award. Outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments from the current season only are considered.

2010 Academic All-MAC Gymnastics Team
Ashley Jacob, Ball State
Dawn Christman, Bowling Green
Katie Simon, Central Michigan^
Andrea de la Garza, Central Michigan
Kristin Teubner, Central Michigan
Erin Grigg, Eastern Michigan^
Lydia Barrett, Kent State*
Christina Lenny, Kent State
Natalie Blum, Northern Illinois
Kristine Garbarino, Western Michigan

^ Two-time honoree
*Three-time honoree