MAC Announces Academic All-MAC Women's Golf Team

Updated 6/1/2010
CLEVELAND -- The Mid-American Conference announced its 2010 Women's Golf Academic All-MAC team Tuesday, as voted by faculty athletic representatives at MAC institutions. A total of nine student-athletes were named to the team.

Leading this year's team for the second consecutive season was MAC Golfer of the Year Martina Gavier of Kent State. Also being named to the team for the second consecutive year was Eastern Michigan's Darby Peters.

MAC Runner-up Ball State placed three student-athletes on the team was Brittnay Kelly, Kristy O'Connor and Rachael Pruett. Joining her teammate from MAC Champion Kent State was Mercedes Germino.

Akron's Hannah Ek received this year's honors and is the only member of the team with a 4.0 grade point average. Rounding out the team were Toledo's Michelle Hui and Western Michigan's Elise Swartout, respectfully.

The Academic All-MAC honor is for a student-athlete who has excelled in athletics and academics. To qualify, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.20 cumulative GPA and have participated in at least 50 percent of the contests for that particular sport. First-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence are not eligible for the award.

2010 Academic All-MAC Women's Golf Team
Hannah Ek, Akron
Brittany Kelly, Ball State
Kristy O'Connor, Ball State
Rachael Pruett, Ball State
Darby Peters, Eastern Michigan
Martina Gavier, Kent State
Mercedes Germino, Kent State
Michelle Hui, Toledo
Elise Swartout, Western Michigan